Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made these pancakes today using the ingredients as listed. The only thing I did differently was that I mixed the dry ingredients together in one bowl, and mixed the wet ingredients together in another bowl. I also let the wet ingredients come to room temperature before gently folding the wet into the dry. I would think it would be difficult to not overmix if you added one wet ingredient after another into the dry. These cooked up very fluffy and made 8 large pancakes. We did notice the salt, but it wasn't overwhelming. I will cut the salt in half next time, but these were easy to make and tasted delicious. 4 stars for unclear directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelelyl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but reduced the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp as the thought of putting 2 whole teaspoons was a bit mind boggling. The Good: These panackes cook up fluffy and have good texture. The initial flavor was good. The Bad: The aftertaste of baking soda in my mouth after every bite. Ick! Maybe that is why there is so much salt... to cover the bad aftertaste. I will tinker with the salt and baking soda ratios and hopefully come up with a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
They we good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These pancakes are both perfect and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We doubled this recipe only complaint is 2 tsp is way to much salt. Will try again but keep salt to 1tsp when doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe sucks, the pancakes were WAY TOOOOOOOO SALTY. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I read reviews before I make anything, but this time I didn't, I just made these real fast one morning for the kids because I had some leftover buttermilk. These were seriously delicious. I eat low-carb, but they just looked so good I had to try one, it took all the will-power I had to not eat more. I cooked them on the skillet with my bacon, so they were very slightly crisp, and they were probably the best pancakes I have ever eaten. They were very fluffy, I didn't change a thing, thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I have to agree with "sunfluer" that there is WAY too much salt in this recipe. It tasted like I was eating very salty pretzels. I figured the salt amount was a typo. I reduced to 1/4 teaspoon salt and all was perfect again. Oh and I LOVE salt. so with that little adjustment, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made as written (almost). I cut salt to 1/4 tsp, added 1 T sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla - just personal preference. Added fresh blueberries before flipping. They were really great. No more box mixes for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I love salt, but oh man is this pancake recipe SALTY. I had to double the rest of the ingredients just to balance it out! The pancakes were delicious after that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States