Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very good used replaced butter with the shorting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
It was alright but even though I used all butter instead of part shortening, it still came out tasting kind of oily. Also, you could still feel the texture sugar granules being that it wasn't powdered. It would be helpful if the directions were more specific as to how thick the "paste" is supposed to get before cooling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Was very intrigued by a frosting recipe that had flour and granulated sugar in it. Made it for my son's 1st communion cake. It turned out wonderful. Light, fluffy, melt in your mouth frosting. It wasn't to sweet which was great since my family doesn't like sugary sweet frostings. The only change I made was to add a small amount of almond extract and I used all butter. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was horrible!!! I followed the recipe exactly yet it came out in an almost cottage cheese consistency. It tasted as bad as it looked! Pure flour and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Just heavenly! I had no problem with lumps. I doubled the recipe (for a three layer lake) and whisked 1/4 cup of flour with 1/3 cup of milk in a glass bowl twice, then transferred that to the saucepan and added the rest of the milk. I covered the paste with plastic wrap immediately and had no problem with a "crust" after the cooling stage. I backed off on the shortening by 1/4 and increased the butter. I used 80% regular sugar and the remaining 20% (and a bit extra) was powdered sugar. This, and a little extra vanilla (and almond) extract covered most of the shortening taste. The frosting had a very interesting whipped texture to it. In the end, I and everyone else absolutely loved it. This will be my preferred frosting from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This is a suggestion to Connie Rae concerning the "crust" that formed when she made her flour mixture and put it in the refrigerator overnight. If you put a piece of plastic wrap over your flour mixture right after making it and putting it in the container that you are cooling it in, then it will not form a crust and you will have a nice smooth frosting. I too had this problem and kept finding little lumps or flecks in my frosting, and my mom figured it out for me. (that the flour mix. forms a crust when it cools). I hope this helps. I loved this frosting by the way-has a kind of whipped cream taste. I also used all butter. D.Kinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
The paste gets super lumpy and I don't see what it really adds to the buttercream. The buttercream is good overall sans flour paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I used all butter because I don't like the shortening taste. It came out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Great frosting! Thank you for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe was very easy to make. It came out light and fluffy. I stirred the flour/milk mixture for about 5 minutes then popped it in the fridge. If you're looking for pure white frosting, it's not going to happen because of the vanilla (unless you get clear vanilla) It was pretty tasty, but a bit on the shortening texture/taste side. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States