Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I needed to make a frosting for a spice cake in a hurry with the ingredients I had in my house so I came across this. I somehow got lumpy milk/flour, which the recipe said to stir until not lumpy...well I stirred and stirred and still lumps. So I tossed it and tried again. Still lumpy. I proceeded anyway, using powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar (prior experience gave me grainy frosting). Minus the lumps, the frosting wasn't bad. Wasn't great either. But it was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I thought this was wonderful frosting, I had made a lemon boxed cake and didnt have frosting so found this and tried it, its light and fluffy, and has a consistency of whipped cream, I love that its not too sweet, we Americans make all our desserts sickeningly too sweet, if thats a word..I love it and it turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This recipe was great. A secret - you can alter this recipe just a tad to make sugar-free and shortening free. Instead of the sugar, add in 1/2 cup of Blue Agave Nectar (comes in a syrup in most health food stores) and instead of the shortening, add in 1/4 cup coconut oil (very healthy!) and 1/4 cup extra butter (so 3/4 cup butter total). For a special taste, add in 7 pureed strawberries (might have to add some water) and the taste is fresh and AMAZING, and low glycemic/sugar-free on top of that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
oops! I used this recipe and didn't beat it enough. Went to recipe for "white frosting" where it says to beat for 10-12 min and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a nice, lighter-tasting change from the traditional recipes. Found it was not sweet enough for our taste so added about 1/4 C powdered sugar and about 1/2 t more vanilla on top of the other ingredients. Hard to get away from the taste of the flour. Might be worth experimenting with cornstarch? Next time I will cover the bowl before chilling in refrigerator as I found a skin formed on top of the flour/milk paste making it a bit lumpy. Was able to beat it out with the mixer and it spread on the cake perfectly. Covered my 9-inch layer with ample frosting and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I thought this icing recipe was just a basic frosting.I didn't think it was great but it was ok.I was just looking for a icing recipe for on a box cake.I will keep this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2
Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
It was great. I had to fight my husband off the bowl so I could frost the cake. I only used 1/4 cup shortening and increased the butter by 1/4. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract. The butter I used was super soft, so I am not sure if that is why my frosting wasn't whipping up as much as I would like, so I added some powdered sugar until it was the consistency that I wanted. It could have been because I am in a high altitude area. But overall, very easy to make and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Eek! the shortening made it really waxy and flavorless. This is not for us, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Light and not at all gritty, despite the granulated sugar. I cooked the milk/flour paste until about the thickness of white glue. Beat for 5 minutes with mixer. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This recipe is stellar! I like that it doesn't require powdered sugar (which can be more expensive). But, it's hard to save enough icing to put on the cake.... I'd rather eat it by the spoonful. Add a variety of extracts or flavorings to vary the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States