Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have too say this a very very good frosting and very old school is what I like that taste you haven't had in awhile I made a cake for my sister on her birthday and she couldn't believe I made the frosting from scratch it is creamy and I did it with only butter so it was really good two thumbs up......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is an old chestnut! I've been making this recipe for over 30 years. One ingredient that is missing is salt. You need to add a couple of nice, big pinches in order to counteract the blandness which shortening imparts. Measure flour into your saucepan with the salt, then whisk in the milk, little by little, to banish lumps. After it has been cooked (low heat, whisking constantly) long enough that it starts to boil (this has to be done in order to activate the flour's full thickening power, thereby eliminating an unpleasant "floury" taste) remove from the heat, and press a piece of plastic wrap right onto the surface of your paste. This is the best way to make sure your paste doesn't form a "skin" as the paste cools. The sugar should be added in a very slow, very tiny stream in order to incorporate it sufficiently, then the mixture should be beaten vigorously for 5-10 minutes, depending on the power of your mixer, to eliminate grittiness. Then incorporate your chilled paste. Add your flavoring (I add a dash of lemon and orange extracts to the 2 tsp vanilla for a beautifully complex finish) and beat for another few minutes. Not the heavy texture of your conventional buttercream, but, as others have noted, more of a whipped cream kind of texture. Light, luscious, not too sweet. It's the perfect finish for any cake. Best not to attempt to decorate with it, however, as it's not as sturdy as a conventional decorator buttercream. This is always served to raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I DO NOT LIKE SWEET STUFF, THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
i did NOT like this recipe!! it was flavorless and gritty. however, i did like the consistency. it was light and fluffy and easy to spread on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used all butter. Turned out wonderful! This recipe is just like the frosting my mother always made, so I was familiar with the technique of slowly mixing milk into the flour over low heat. Also, you need to cream the butter for a long time before adding the sugar. And add only small amounts of sugar slowly to incorporate into the butter to not get that grainy texture. I'll use this for cakes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh, my.. this is amazing frosting. I've made classic egg-based buttercreams before, but always found them too buttery. And I'm not a fan of powdered sugar/butter/shortening frostings personally. This recipe was the perfect medium between the egg-based and American buttercreams: incredibly silky texture, not too sweet, nice and buttery but without tasting like sweetened butter (I've tried this recipe both as written and using all butter, and I actually prefer it as written). The only things I would recommend specifically are: 1) Use a stand mixer; 2) Cream your butter, shortening, and sugar together for at least 5 minutes before adding the milk mixture; 3) Add a pinch of salt; 4) After adding the milk mixture, beat the frosting for at least 5-10 minutes to give the sugar crystals time to dissolve, otherwise you'll have gritty frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Just like grandma's but use butter instead of shortening but could work both ways but I havent tried shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
MMMMmmm This was my first shot at making a buttercream icing and it turned out fabulously! I tweaked it a bit with the ratios of shortening and butter and added a little more vanilla extract but other than that, it was great. A little tip that helped me with no lumps in the milk/flour mixture was to use a small sifter and while whisking the hot milk, sift the flour into the pot. Worked great, no lumps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I really liked this frosting - great texture (I didn't have the problems with lumps like some reviewers), and not too sweet. Next time I might try using more butter and less shortening, or even all butter. I think this is my new go-to frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is the best frosting I've ever made. I've tried several other recipes from scratch and this was THE BEST! I'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlPower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States