Mom's Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
It is very hard to find good recipes using ingredients "on hand" this is one of those recipes.I get requests many many times for this one. Thank you Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I lost my favourite recipe for making tarts. One of the ingredients was golden corn syrup so figured this must be close and it was. I use dried blueberries instead of raisins or with raisins on occasion. Also sometimes use nuts.Stampy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I had lost my mom's recipe for butter tarts and this one seemed similar in ingredients from what I remembered... however the temp settings must be too high or too long because I followed the recipe exactly and have an oven thermometer and they came out as crispy critters... did the 2nd batch at 400 for only about 12 minutes and although not quite so "burnt" flavoring was blaw...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The best butter tart recipe I have ever used and is now the only one I will use! Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Bake these at 400 watching after 10 min and you will have the absolute best Butter tarts.I tried baking at 350 the first time but it wasn't hot enough. Makes enough for 3 1/2 doz bought tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I would skip the nutmeg next time, other than that, good consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I loved this recipe. Bought Costco frozen tart shells,distrubuted plump raisins in each shell then pored the filling in. I found the amount called for was more than necessary unless youur a raisin lover. 15 tarts fit easily on a cookie sheet and I got 30. These freeze very well. C'est tres bonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I would lower the oven temp to 350 and bake a bit longer. When I baked this recipe at 400 the filling didn't set very well and they stayed too runny. When I baked them at 350 they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yummy!!!Thats all I can say-mind you I omitted raisins and still its YUMMY~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States