Mom's Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Petrosha
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is an excellent butter tart recipe! It is gooey and runny and that's what makes it so wonderful! I followed the advice of others and lowered the temperature to 400F . They baked for 15 minutes and looked perfect, but I waited and kept them in an additional 5 minutes. They were thoroughly cooked and came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great no fail recipe. I used frozen mini tart shells, and made over 2 dozen. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Really enjoyed this classic butter tart recipe. Followed it to the letter with the exception of adding walnuts, raisins and cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Yummy!!!Thats all I can say-mind you I omitted raisins and still its YUMMY~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I would lower the oven temp to 350 and bake a bit longer. When I baked this recipe at 400 the filling didn't set very well and they stayed too runny. When I baked them at 350 they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I loved this recipe. Bought Costco frozen tart shells,distrubuted plump raisins in each shell then pored the filling in. I found the amount called for was more than necessary unless youur a raisin lover. 15 tarts fit easily on a cookie sheet and I got 30. These freeze very well. C'est tres bonne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I would skip the nutmeg next time, other than that, good consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Bake these at 400 watching after 10 min and you will have the absolute best Butter tarts.I tried baking at 350 the first time but it wasn't hot enough. Makes enough for 3 1/2 doz bought tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The best butter tart recipe I have ever used and is now the only one I will use! Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I had lost my mom's recipe for butter tarts and this one seemed similar in ingredients from what I remembered... however the temp settings must be too high or too long because I followed the recipe exactly and have an oven thermometer and they came out as crispy critters... did the 2nd batch at 400 for only about 12 minutes and although not quite so "burnt" flavoring was blaw...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States