Mom's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
If you use fresh brussels sprouts, and cut them into 1/4's and stir fry them in a little olive oil (or your preferred oil)instead of boiling then continue with the rest of the recipe instructions, it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is a really good, healthy side dish! I steamed fresh brussels sprouts, which I think makes a big difference. For the sauce, I used light margarine and cut the brown sugar to 2 tablespoons. Also cooked it in a saucepan instead of the microwave, which eliminated the grainy texture some others encountered. I definitely recommend cutting the sprouts in half before coating with the sauce. It allows the flavor to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Pretty good and tasty, but a bit too sugary. Believe it or not, a little bit of water helps the sauce come together if the sugar and butter don't come together. It tasted a lot better the second day. 5-stars for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Wow, I never would have thought that brussel sprouts could actally taste this great! This recipe is so easy and tasty. I used fresh brussel sprouts, roughly two handfuls and then pretty much followed the rest of the recipe, but eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. I don't have a microwave, so I simply let the sprouts remain the strainer and put the butter (margarine, actually), nuts and spices in the same pot I cooked the sprouts and let it all melt and warm up. I put the sprouts in a glass dish and poured the sauce over top. This is worth trying and I'll make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Way too Bizarre! I made this last night and my kids asked for seconds. I have always liked brussels sprouts, but when I found this recipe for adding brown sugar, I thought it might give me a shot at getting my kids to eat them...So happy I found this recipe! Very easy, and yummy. We all really loved the walnuts too....we were fighting for them at the end of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. Evereyone raved how good they were. I'll definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Pretty yummy! I didn't add the walnuts, because I hate nuts, but the butter/brown sugar combo was nice. My only complaint was that when I melted the 2 together in the microwave, all the butter settled to the top, and the sugar to the bottom. It didn't combine very well, and the sauce was a bit 'grainy' then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I'm not a huge brussels sprouts fan but these were quite tasty. I liked the contrasts between the brown sugar and the sprouts. I'm considering this dish for Thanksgiving dinner. My husband really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These are delish! I used cashews b/c it's all I had, and only a tiny dash of allspice (no nutmeg), and we loved it! My 8 yr old son kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by BK
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
We really enjoyed this! I used chopped pecans because I didn't have walnuts - I wasn't sure how much 8 oz. was, so just used 1/4 c. because I only had 16 oz. of sprouts (rather than the 20 the recipe calls for). Probably my favorite brussel sprouts recipe I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States