Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Of course, it came from my mom so I love it! You can use just about any pairing of 2 cups water to broth cubes, bullion granules, liquid concentrates, whatever flavor and brand you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I rate this receipe "the best" This gravy is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I believe this to be the finest gravy that I have ever made. Nice work, my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
EXCELLENT !! This is an answer to my needs. I substituted 2 tablespoons of (Hacho) miso for the Marmite. I added some more water as I found the gravy a little too thick. I may have cooked it too long initially. Thank you for such a great recipie ! (I am going to reduce the butter to 3 TBSP here after.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Really good gravy for veggies. I wanted to make a big batch of poutine and half my roomates are vegetarian, so I was happy to find this one. I doubled it to make enough. We've done it a couple of times now and found it very salty as written, and so now I don't add any salt (I think there's enough saltyness in the butter and Marmite - you can always add some salt and pepper to your plate as needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was great, I love homemade gravy. I did use 1 cup of low sodium beef broth, was afraid the flavor would be a little bland, omitted salt. Plan on making recipe exact next time just to compare the taste of both. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Delicious! I doubled the Vegemite, and added some Worchestershire Sauce. Very Yummy! Thanks SOooo much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
In the strictest sense of the word, this is not "vegetarian" if it contains butter...but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moder8Sk1LLz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
suprisingly delicious and not time consuming. poured it over tofurkey. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I use this gravy for so much. I usually add a tsp of garlic powder, and sometimes sub shortening for butter which works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States