Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I didn't have any brown gravy so I decided to try this recipe out. I'm so glad that I did because I'll never have to buy brown gravy packages ever again. I didn't have any Marmite/Vegemite so I used 3 beef bouilion cubes (initially I tried 2 and it didn't have much flavor) and just added a dash of salt and pepper. If I ever see Marmite/Vegemite, I will definitely get some and use it with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Really good gravy for veggies. I wanted to make a big batch of poutine and half my roomates are vegetarian, so I was happy to find this one. I doubled it to make enough. We've done it a couple of times now and found it very salty as written, and so now I don't add any salt (I think there's enough saltyness in the butter and Marmite - you can always add some salt and pepper to your plate as needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Of course, it came from my mom so I love it! You can use just about any pairing of 2 cups water to broth cubes, bullion granules, liquid concentrates, whatever flavor and brand you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very very good!!! My son wanted chicken gravy like the school has =/ I did sub better than bullion for the yeast extract and had a very good result. Would be happy to make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
In the strictest sense of the word, this is not "vegetarian" if it contains butter...but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moder8Sk1LLz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
EXCELLENT !! This is an answer to my needs. I substituted 2 tablespoons of (Hacho) miso for the Marmite. I added some more water as I found the gravy a little too thick. I may have cooked it too long initially. Thank you for such a great recipie ! (I am going to reduce the butter to 3 TBSP here after.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I have missed having gravy at supper b/c my husband is vegetarian -but this stuff is great! I'll be making this recipe again and again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I use this gravy for so much. I usually add a tsp of garlic powder, and sometimes sub shortening for butter which works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I love this gravy. I've made it several times, and it's always enjoyed by vegetarians such as me, and meat eater guests alike. I add more marmite (probably double), as well as approx. 1 Tbs. powdered shitake mushroom. It's also good with shallot powder in adition to, or instead of onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This gravy is excellent. Instead of onion powder and salt, I used a vegetarian bouillon/stock cube. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States