Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My husband is from England so, of course, we ALWAYS have a jar of Marmite in the house He tasted it because I won't go near anything with Marmite. He said it was too salty when I made it at first and I did not use the salt in the recipe. I did use a chicken boullion cube though so I sure that's where the extra salt came from. I added a splash of port as suggested by one reviewer. I just had my husband taste it again and he said "throw it out". I can only go by what he said but this man would eat Marmite on cardboard. Won't be making this one again - sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Well, I have to say, when i saw marmite as an ingredient it scared me a little bit. I think it is terrible. I gave it a try anyway b/c of all of the great reviews. I have to say, it is the best gravy i have ever tried. Good Job!!! I also used beef broth instead of water, turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mallo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This past Thanksgiving I needed a great recipe for a vegetarian gravy. I am a vegetarian and wanted to make a delicious version of the traditional meal. I have to admit that when I saw Marmite in this recipe I had my doubts. It turned out fantastic though. It has a very hearty, meaty (mushroom-like) flavor. It was terrific. I now make this with many of my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was my first time making homemade gravy and it was delicious! I didn't even have all the ingredients and it was still tasty. Substituted yeast extract for miso (I got it from a miso soup package), used garlic powder instead of onion powder and added 1 beef bouillion. Next time I will omit the salt. I don't think I even needed the miso! Thank you for sharing, this was perfect with our mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've been making this gravy for years, and people always ask me for the recipe (even non vegetarians!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Cook-off a splash of dry sherry, heady port, or red wine in this very good gravy. It adds a depth of flavor characteristic of meat gravies that's missing from most vegan gravies. If you don't drink alcohol, you can substitute grape juice mixed with a little white Japanese rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I just made this is my husband wants to drink out of the pan! The only change I made was to add a lot of pepper, but it was excellent without. Thank your mother for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I didn't have any brown gravy so I decided to try this recipe out. I'm so glad that I did because I'll never have to buy brown gravy packages ever again. I didn't have any Marmite/Vegemite so I used 3 beef bouilion cubes (initially I tried 2 and it didn't have much flavor) and just added a dash of salt and pepper. If I ever see Marmite/Vegemite, I will definitely get some and use it with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This gravy was pretty good for veg gravy. The recipe only yielded about 1 cup of gravy after boiling it down though, not 2 cups. I used 1 tsp of veg soup powder instead of onion powder. I also added about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder (mix) and about 1/4 tsp of pepper. This recipe needed to be boiled at higher heat to thicken it. Or else the cornstarch water should only be added very slowly to thicken gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Great idea! I sauteed a small fresh onion in the butter, then used a vegetarian broth base and water for the liquid. Great! Served with veggie sausages and mashed potatoes-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States