Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This past Thanksgiving I needed a great recipe for a vegetarian gravy. I am a vegetarian and wanted to make a delicious version of the traditional meal. I have to admit that when I saw Marmite in this recipe I had my doubts. It turned out fantastic though. It has a very hearty, meaty (mushroom-like) flavor. It was terrific. I now make this with many of my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was my first time making homemade gravy and it was delicious! I didn't even have all the ingredients and it was still tasty. Substituted yeast extract for miso (I got it from a miso soup package), used garlic powder instead of onion powder and added 1 beef bouillion. Next time I will omit the salt. I don't think I even needed the miso! Thank you for sharing, this was perfect with our mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've been making this gravy for years, and people always ask me for the recipe (even non vegetarians!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Cook-off a splash of dry sherry, heady port, or red wine in this very good gravy. It adds a depth of flavor characteristic of meat gravies that's missing from most vegan gravies. If you don't drink alcohol, you can substitute grape juice mixed with a little white Japanese rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I just made this is my husband wants to drink out of the pan! The only change I made was to add a lot of pepper, but it was excellent without. Thank your mother for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I didn't have any brown gravy so I decided to try this recipe out. I'm so glad that I did because I'll never have to buy brown gravy packages ever again. I didn't have any Marmite/Vegemite so I used 3 beef bouilion cubes (initially I tried 2 and it didn't have much flavor) and just added a dash of salt and pepper. If I ever see Marmite/Vegemite, I will definitely get some and use it with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This gravy was pretty good for veg gravy. The recipe only yielded about 1 cup of gravy after boiling it down though, not 2 cups. I used 1 tsp of veg soup powder instead of onion powder. I also added about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder (mix) and about 1/4 tsp of pepper. This recipe needed to be boiled at higher heat to thicken it. Or else the cornstarch water should only be added very slowly to thicken gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Great idea! I sauteed a small fresh onion in the butter, then used a vegetarian broth base and water for the liquid. Great! Served with veggie sausages and mashed potatoes-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I use beef or chicken broth instead of water (although, the water works just as well). I think the broth adds just a bit more kick to it. Also, I HATE marmite! BUT, I followed the recipe anyway cuz my boyfriend loves it (he's English). This gravy totally rocks! It slightly reminds me of the gravy from Kentucky Fried Chicken but better and homemade! Thank you so much for posting this easy and tasty gravy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Fix Lumpy Gravy

Got lumps in the gravy? Don't panic, it’s a super-easy fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States