Mom's Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious, simple recipe. I used Better Than Boullion, No Beef flavor and Earth Balance. Omitted the salt and added garlic powder. Will never buy package gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Thanks for the idea & base. I am not a vegetarian, so I used 1T bouillon granules, fresh ground pepper, and dashes of ground red pepper to kick it up a notch. However, I omitted the butter and used 2T coconut oil instead. The family loved it and I will continue to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Really good gravy recipe. I did not make this vegetarian. I used beef boullion instead. I had the packets of powder and used 4 of them in the gravy. I also added a few dashes of worchestershire sauce to give it a little kick. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
WOW WOW.. as a transitioning whole food convert, I was very skeptical when I purchased the yeast extract asa beef substitute. I am incredibly critical of weak substitutes and this gravy is unbelievable. We made it as is except for using the organic Earth Balance butter substitute. We love it!!! Thanks to whomever invented this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I was looking for a chicken gravy recipe found this so I had to change a little bit. Instead of yeast extract I used sodium free chicken bouillon and a little bit of the chicken broth from the cooked chicken. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Loved this gravy! Wasn't too thick or thin. It was just right, rich and delicious and to Moder8Sk1LLz, if something contains butter it can still be vegetarian, I believe you are thinking of vegan. Vegans don't use any dairy products, but vegetarians do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Super-easy and very good. I didn't have the yeast spread, so subbed 2 bouillion cubes and a spoonful of Tony Chachere's gravy mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Soooo good! I had the hardest time finding Marmite/Vegemite and I'm in San Diego, CA! I saw it everywhere 10 years ago. I used the Vegetable Better Than Bouillon and it worked perfectly. I also used 2 teaspoons of the bouillon and skipped the teaspoon of salt.... I thought it was a little more flavorful. I will never buy the dry packets of brown gravy mix again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States