Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this recipe as a base and it worked perfectly. I made 4 key changes: 1. I used challah instead of white bread (amazingly fluffy). 2. I used spinach instead of ham. 3. I mixed the onions and mushrooms together. 4. I added gruyere to the cheddar (also I used Cheddar from Borough Market/Neal's Dairy Yard) and it was DELICIOUS. This was an amazing recipe. I studied many others that called for half and half and in all seriousness didn't feel like I missed a thing without it. I served this with Whole Foods 365 Maple Sausage Links and Smoked Salmon Nova and everyone seemed pleased. Rather than put the meat in the strata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this for a non-profit board meeting and while I would give it 5 stars for ease of putting together, the flavor is non-existent. That being said, some folks did go back for "seconds" but next time I make it, I will probably doctor it up with some herbs/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This recipe was just so-so to my crowd. The texture of the bread was kind of mushy, even though I used an oven thermometer and baked it the full time. Several guests said that it was "okay" as long as it was piping hot, but when it cooled off/got cold, it wasn't very good at all. I had some guests even leave half of it on their plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this recipe for breakfast for my family and while it was extremely easy to make the flavor was bland. I was going to take this for Easter brunch and am glad I tried it first. I did my own version which turned out much better. Instead of using bread I used 1 1/2 boxes of garlic and herb croutons. I also used swiss cheese instead of cheddar and 1/2 heavy cream, 1/2 milk. This made it much richer. It is a good recipe just needed some spicing up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This recipe was certainly tasty. I think ham should be put in the middle as well as on top and it could also benefit from more cheese and some salt with paprika dashed on top. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a round cassarole dish. I think my dish was a tad too deep because it did come out a little sloppy. Next time I'll bake it in a larger dish and not make each layer as deep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Cooking time was not long enough. When I first took off the aluminum foil, the cheese in the center wasn't even melted. I ended up turning the oven up to 375 and leaving it in another 15-20 minutes longer that in the recipe. But it was a big hit at our Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This dish turned out very nicely. I have made other variations of it before and have found that letting the bread sit out for a day (so it won't be too soft or mushy) before tearing the pieces up in preparation. I added a little garlic powder and onion powder to the recipe and also added (canned) mild green chili slices in between the first cheese layer and under the cheese in the last layer. Turned out nice and souffle' like. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Harper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I used this recipe because I lost my mother-in-law's recipe, but the result was even better! I got many raves for this one. Perfection! P.S. Don't tell the mother-in-law. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
A variation of this recipe has been a tradition in my family for 25 years. I make is early Christmas Eve and put it in the refrigerator. On Christmas morning) we get up (really early!) and I put it in the oven @ 350 for 70 minutes. By the time presents are opened and the mess is cleaned up it's time to eat! My recipe uses toasted bread and we like lots of blotted, crumbled bacon I add previously-cooked hashbrowns (nice and golden brown!)in the morning before it goes in the oven. My grandkids now look forward to Christmas morning just like their Mom or Dad did a generation ago! It's a great family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was fabulous! I did use sourdough bread, substituted lean hot turkey sausages instead of the ham and used 1/2 cheedar cheese mixed with 1/2 swiss instead od straight cheddar. It was so good. Everyone in the house loved this. I will make this, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States