Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for next day guests. I add a few hot sauce drops and also buttered one side of the bread and spread with a little Dijon Mustard. We liked the extra zing! :) Thanks Amy, I had lost the recipe. Joni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This recipe was just so-so to my crowd. The texture of the bread was kind of mushy, even though I used an oven thermometer and baked it the full time. Several guests said that it was "okay" as long as it was piping hot, but when it cooled off/got cold, it wasn't very good at all. I had some guests even leave half of it on their plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I made this with sausage instead of the ham. I omitted the green pepper. It was good. When I told my sister what I was making, she turned up her nose. She ended up having seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Cooking time was not long enough. When I first took off the aluminum foil, the cheese in the center wasn't even melted. I ended up turning the oven up to 375 and leaving it in another 15-20 minutes longer that in the recipe. But it was a big hit at our Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This was very good and so easy to make. I was only able to refrigerate it for about 4 hrs. and it came out fine. I also added 1 chopped up jalapeño pepper, with seeds, to spice it up a little. The adults liked this, the kids did not give it a fair shake. I cut the recipe in 1/2 for a family of 4 and baked in a 7 x 11 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Thanks Mom! This one was great. I made it with 1/2# breakfast sausage instead of ham but used all of the veggies. It was a great, hearty breakfast. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkurman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This recipe was certainly tasty. I think ham should be put in the middle as well as on top and it could also benefit from more cheese and some salt with paprika dashed on top. I cut the recipe in half and baked in a round cassarole dish. I think my dish was a tad too deep because it did come out a little sloppy. Next time I'll bake it in a larger dish and not make each layer as deep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Wonderful make-ahead dish. I love serving this to groups. No last-mintue fuss and everyone loves it every time! You can also easily vary the ingredients to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I tried this because I knew it would be easier and quicker than making individual omlets as I had planned. Everyone voted on taking the time for individual omlets from now on. Just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This was so easy and so good. I sent it to a potluck breakfast and it went very quickly. I added thinly sliced tomatoes on top. I plan to make it for supper soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States