Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I was so glad to see this recipe again. I use it, but I'd gotten carried away on the ingredients. A few tips for variations: saute the onions and green peppers if you have people sensitive to those at your house. Use chorizo sausage, sharp cheddar, and canned green chilis (mild) for a Mexican flavor. A remarkably flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I follow a very similar recipe however, instead of tearing up the bread, I trim the crusts off, spread thin layer of dijon mustard on one side, and cut slices on diagonal. First layer is mustard side up bread in botton of greased pan, add veggies/meat/cheese, and repeat layers again. I prefer to use shaved black forest ham torn into pieces, and I season the egg/milk mixture with salt, pepper and tobasco/hot sauce. Bake at 375F for 40 minutes, and remove foil and bake 15-20 mins more. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Pretty good! Sauteed the veggies first, which prolonged the prep. Added garlic salt. Halved the recipe (eggs, bread, milk - kept veggies the same) and baked in 8x8 dish. Mine looked gorgeously puffy when it came out of the oven, but then "fell" 5 minutes later. Any tips for how to avoid this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. I used mushrooms, asparagus, sharp cheddar, smoked Gouda and left out the ham. Everyone loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
awesome! thank you so much, allot of ways you can cook this and be successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We were looking for a breakfast dish using the leftover ham from yesterday and Voila! Prepared & put in frig last night and baked this morning! Very, very good. I was hesitant about a "soggy bread" dish, but WOW! Added a little extra ham & cheese and cooked for about 5 minutes longer and increased temp to 375 for the uncovered baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was fabulous! I did use sourdough bread, substituted lean hot turkey sausages instead of the ham and used 1/2 cheedar cheese mixed with 1/2 swiss instead od straight cheddar. It was so good. Everyone in the house loved this. I will make this, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have had many versions of this before and was comfortable substituting ingredients. Iused medium spicy sausage, precooked instead of ham. I only used 3 pieces of bread, 7 eggs, and 1 1/4 cup of milk. I only used about 2/3 cups of shredded cheese. I also added in some fresh chopped spinach, 1/4 cup, for color. I used 1 tsp hot sauce and and one tbsp prepared mustard and no mushrooms or green pepper or onion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The flavor was great, but the cook time was not long enough. In the recommended time, it came out mushy and runny. I had to put it back in the oven for another 30 minutes to fully cook the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this recipe as a base and it worked perfectly. I made 4 key changes: 1. I used challah instead of white bread (amazingly fluffy). 2. I used spinach instead of ham. 3. I mixed the onions and mushrooms together. 4. I added gruyere to the cheddar (also I used Cheddar from Borough Market/Neal's Dairy Yard) and it was DELICIOUS. This was an amazing recipe. I studied many others that called for half and half and in all seriousness didn't feel like I missed a thing without it. I served this with Whole Foods 365 Maple Sausage Links and Smoked Salmon Nova and everyone seemed pleased. Rather than put the meat in the strata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States