Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe.I had this for a morning brunch with old friends. Prepared the night before, got to enjoy my company. Side dish of cheese grits,croussants with nutella and strawberries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this recipe but made it into a Southwestern style. I chopped a red bell pepper and a onion saute in butter added cilantro and red pepper flakes salt and pepper very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Knight
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was very good, I like the basic recipe....you can use anything you want in it; I used what I had in the house; cook sausage, asparagus, cheddar and italian cheese. .....everyone also likes the corners, so next time I will make it in muffin pans, so everyone gets a corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It was delicious. Since it was for a family brunch I served it with salsa--some used it some did not. I'm glad that I read the reviews as it needed almost twice the cooking time stated in the instructions. I used challah bread and it was so good I'll probably always make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I wanted something easy for Sunday brunch and decided to try this recipe even though I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I didn't have mushrooms and thought I had a pepper but didn't so I ended up substituting brocolli. Some suggested the onions need to be pre-sauteed but I think they cooked up fine in the mixture. My only issue was the texture of the bread in the center of the pan. It was a little too moist for my tastes. I think I am going to try reducing the milk and/or using less fresh bread or maybe some french bread that has been cubed and left to dry for a little while before assembling the ingredients. I did add salt, pepper and a couple cloves of smashed roasted garlic to the egg mixture. When I took the foil off at the 30 minute mark the cheese hadn't melted and everything still looked quite wet so I turned the heat up to 375 and left it in the oven for 25 minutes instead of the stated 15. It looked and smelled so nice when it came out of the oven. The flavor was great! I'm glad the recipe called for milk as I think cream (some reviewers switched to cream) would have made it too rich for us. The recipe sounds delicious as written and it was great with the changes I made. It's a great base for you to add the things that you like and so easy to switch things up for variety. Now that I've said all this I truly do agree with Nicki and Gus, it's not fair to change everything about the recipe and then complain and give a low rating when it doesn't turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Nicki, you had the best review I have read since I began here. Also why change and then review? Why make the item when you are aware that you do not like a given flavor? So many people do that and then give it a low stars. I wonder about the people who do the rateing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I haven't made this exact recipe, but similiar. I would omit the green pepper, and add a can of dieced green chilies. That spices it up just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My mother has had this (little different variation) for Christmas brunch for probably 20 years. We just love, love it. She never tore the bread, just buttered slices, then cut it into squares to serve. I will say that in my experience the cooking time is too short. I take it out of the refrigerator first thing in the morning and sit it on the counter till almost room temperature. That cuts down on the cooking time. And don't rush to serve it. It stays VERY hot if you make it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used sharp white Cheddar, left out the ham and green pepper, and added spinach and artichoke hearts. Also added a touch of garlic salt and white pepper. I did find it needed to cook about 20 minutes more than the recipe stated (but our oven tends to require more time as a rule). I'll definitely be making this for breakfast again during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitsune

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I was so glad to see this recipe again. I use it, but I'd gotten carried away on the ingredients. A few tips for variations: saute the onions and green peppers if you have people sensitive to those at your house. Use chorizo sausage, sharp cheddar, and canned green chilis (mild) for a Mexican flavor. A remarkably flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States