Mom's Breakfast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Use half the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wow, what a delish treat on Christmas morning. Very flavorful and not too "eggy" - delicate cross between quiche and baked eggs. Used turkey sausage, low fat milk, cheddar/jack cheese and rye bread; added chopped spinach and garlic powder. Next time will try bacon and asparagus. Perfect for winter dinners also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe.I had this for a morning brunch with old friends. Prepared the night before, got to enjoy my company. Side dish of cheese grits,croussants with nutella and strawberries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this recipe but made it into a Southwestern style. I chopped a red bell pepper and a onion saute in butter added cilantro and red pepper flakes salt and pepper very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Knight
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was very good, I like the basic recipe....you can use anything you want in it; I used what I had in the house; cook sausage, asparagus, cheddar and italian cheese. .....everyone also likes the corners, so next time I will make it in muffin pans, so everyone gets a corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It was delicious. Since it was for a family brunch I served it with salsa--some used it some did not. I'm glad that I read the reviews as it needed almost twice the cooking time stated in the instructions. I used challah bread and it was so good I'll probably always make it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I wanted something easy for Sunday brunch and decided to try this recipe even though I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I didn't have mushrooms and thought I had a pepper but didn't so I ended up substituting brocolli. Some suggested the onions need to be pre-sauteed but I think they cooked up fine in the mixture. My only issue was the texture of the bread in the center of the pan. It was a little too moist for my tastes. I think I am going to try reducing the milk and/or using less fresh bread or maybe some french bread that has been cubed and left to dry for a little while before assembling the ingredients. I did add salt, pepper and a couple cloves of smashed roasted garlic to the egg mixture. When I took the foil off at the 30 minute mark the cheese hadn't melted and everything still looked quite wet so I turned the heat up to 375 and left it in the oven for 25 minutes instead of the stated 15. It looked and smelled so nice when it came out of the oven. The flavor was great! I'm glad the recipe called for milk as I think cream (some reviewers switched to cream) would have made it too rich for us. The recipe sounds delicious as written and it was great with the changes I made. It's a great base for you to add the things that you like and so easy to switch things up for variety. Now that I've said all this I truly do agree with Nicki and Gus, it's not fair to change everything about the recipe and then complain and give a low rating when it doesn't turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Nicki, you had the best review I have read since I began here. Also why change and then review? Why make the item when you are aware that you do not like a given flavor? So many people do that and then give it a low stars. I wonder about the people who do the rateing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I haven't made this exact recipe, but similiar. I would omit the green pepper, and add a can of dieced green chilies. That spices it up just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My mother has had this (little different variation) for Christmas brunch for probably 20 years. We just love, love it. She never tore the bread, just buttered slices, then cut it into squares to serve. I will say that in my experience the cooking time is too short. I take it out of the refrigerator first thing in the morning and sit it on the counter till almost room temperature. That cuts down on the cooking time. And don't rush to serve it. It stays VERY hot if you make it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States