Mom's Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We did not have any stew meat, but did have a ham bone left over, so used that instead. Because we didn't need to cook the ham, it did not take as long to cook as the original recipe. We think the butter is really the secret ingredient here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Hey this is really good! The beef is a nice change from the same old ham or pork. I will make this again and it will be before next new years! Thank you L. Milfon for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a good recipe, but very high in fat, cholesterol, sodium and carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Gantt Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Awesome. My version had 1 1/2 T butter, handfull of shallots from the garden, I had leftover roast and basmati rice and rosemary too, held the garlic (just didn't feel like it today)...mmmmm yummy. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Everybody loved and very Tasty..I added 1 beef bouillion cube
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is delicious and filling. However, it had a lot of meat in comparison to the black-eyed peas, even though I decreased the meat down to 2 lbs. I think an extra package of black-eyed peas could be added since this is called Mom's Black-Eyed Peas" and not "Mom's Beef with Black-Eyed Peas". The butter is the key to this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was OK. I have come to the conclusion that I am not a big fan of black-eyed-peas in general. I don't really like the "earthy" flavor...kind of reminds me of eating dirt! This recipe is sooooo not healthy. While butter based anything is sure to be delicious, healthy, it is not! So while it tasted OK, I would not make this again because of too many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The second time I have made this for New Year's Day. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This recipe was extremely bland! I wanted to try something different with the peas but I should've stuck with the 'Southern way' pork pork and more pork. There wasn't any flavor to these at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States