Mom's Big Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I thought the measurements on this were a little off. I don't think a pinch of chili powder and 1/4 tsp. of ketchup and mustard do much to 2 lbs. of ground beef. I liked the combination of ingredients so I increased the chili powder to 1/2 tsp., the ketchup and mustard to 1 tsp. each, and the pepper to 1/4 tsp. I omitted the hot pepper sauce. Instead of broiling, I cooked the burgers in my electric fry pan and didn't bother with the green onions. Instead I just served these with the usual toppings, sliced onion, lettuce, tomato, sliced avocado, etc. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I cut the recipe in half for 1 pound of lean ground beef (90/10). I didn't bother with the water, I just didn't see the point. I added a little extra dijon mustard, ketchup, and Frank's red hot. These came out very moist and delicious. I served these on toasted rolls with thin sliced red onion and melted american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These burgers were awesome! Cooked on my George Forman grill. Highly recommend! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe is delish as is. They are the best homemade burgers. My kids had friends over the night we made them and they said they tasted like a burger from a restaurant. When youre making the patties big, after you formed them make a indentation in the center of the burger with all your fingers (kind of like a birds nest) this way when you cook them on the grill they wont shrink. They will stay the same size and they wont dry out. You wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Very delicious. I halved the recipe (so I guess that means I have to make it again, now that I have half a pkg. of onion soup hanging around). Instead of water, I used lactose-free skim milk. I don't know what difference it made, but I thought I'd try it. Did a bit extra ketchup and mustard, using the spicy brown variety. I mixed the green onions (sliced) right into the burgers. I didn't have pepperjack cheese, so I used mozzarella. I'm sure pepperjack would have been better, and unfortunately, I had no avocado! I love avocados on my burgers, so that's what drew me to the recipe. This is really easy, and great with macaroni or potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Everything is great except for the "well-done" advice. I will not eat a burger that is overcooked i.e. well-done...... anyone??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef de oblivion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was very tasty and moist. However, I agree with other reviewers that many miniscule quantities added nothing, and they were cooked too long. I tasted mostly garlic and some spice, and the liquid made them light. As I had mashed avocado on hand, I spread that on the top role and it was fine. Instead of scallions, I sliced a red onion and broiled it a few minutes, and I didn't think the cheese added much. Too many other flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Talk about yum!! First time making these and I also made homemade hamburger buns for the first time from this site as well. My family LOVED them! It's a must try!! I loved the full flavor of the burgers don't skimp unless you are picky. My daughter is picky and I didn't tell her what I put in them. She told me to make these for now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
We have been going through a hamburger phase here. This was very good. We used American cheese, omitted the green onions and avocado, added red onion. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Too bad about using Onion soup mix. Too much sodium and artificial taste. We prefer something a little more homemade not using artificial ingredients with colours and preservatives added. This is too 1970s when we didn't know better. Sorry. We didn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States