Mom's Big Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I am glad I cooked a little 'tester burger' first before adding the water as the water addition just didn't make sense to me. I could only taste the onion soup mix and hot sauce. This was just too much like a meatloaf sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I cut the recipe in half for 1 pound of lean ground beef (90/10). I didn't bother with the water, I just didn't see the point. I added a little extra dijon mustard, ketchup, and Frank's red hot. These came out very moist and delicious. I served these on toasted rolls with thin sliced red onion and melted american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My husband enjoyed these burgers...left out the water and added extra ketchup and mustard. We cooked them on the bbq and topped them with what we wanted. (Used American cheese and tomatoes...didn't have green onions or avocado, although I'm sure that would have been good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These were really good. I added a few dashes of worsheshire sauce, but other than that didn't change a thing. I served with sliced tomatoes, avocados, onions, pickles and lettuce. I had french fries on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
delicious as is! loved this burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
We really liked these burgers. I would give the recipe 5 stars with the changes I made. Seems to me they would have been a bit bland had I followed the recipe exactly as written, thus the 4 star rating. However, that's my personal opinion. I like my food to have alot of flavor, so here's what I did...I cut the recipe in half as I was only feeding 2 people. I used a whole envelope of onion soup, 2 tsp hot sauce, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp each ketchup & mustard, and added 1 can diced green chilis, as used in the firecracker burgers found on this site. We cooked these on a charcoal grill and topped them with sliced pepperjack cheese. They came out delicious! Great burgers for the fourth! Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These burgers are great! Definitely a keeper! I increased ketchup and mustard amounts slightly and I was amazed at how tasty they are. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Delicious! Whenever I make these for my friends and family they just LOVE them! I leave out the hot pepper sauce and let my guests pick the type of cheese that they prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I did not find these burgers tasty at all. All those ingridients were too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe is delish as is. They are the best homemade burgers. My kids had friends over the night we made them and they said they tasted like a burger from a restaurant. When youre making the patties big, after you formed them make a indentation in the center of the burger with all your fingers (kind of like a birds nest) this way when you cook them on the grill they wont shrink. They will stay the same size and they wont dry out. You wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States