Mom's Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
A great recipe...thanks! My husband doesn't like spaghetti, but he liked this sauce. I made a few changes, I added a little more garlic than called for and toward the end I added cornstarch+water mixture to make it really thick (we hate runny sauce). I added ground beef, but it doesn't need it. A good recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This is a great start for a homemade spaghetti sauce recipe. I did tweek it with fresh basil and parsley and added a little more sugar than called for....but other than that, it tasted great. I made a batch and froze it medium sized containers for dinner options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Very thick, husband is picky when it comes to spag. sauce. Usually likes meat in it and lots of veggies. He liked this one and said it was a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is the only spaghetti sauce recipe I use. I cube some chicken and beef, saute in large saucepan with the garlic until no longer pink, then I begin to follow the recipe. It is absolutely AWESOME with the added meat. I now cut the recipe in half as we are a family of four and it made too much for us. Great recipe! I also agree with leaving out the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I have made this recipe over and over and over for family and friends and it is devoured every time. It is the best recipe and really easy to make. My kids love it, I will continue to make this recipe many more times. I cut the recipe in half but other then that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This is the best spaghetti sauce. My first two wives were italian. There spaghetti sauce was good. This recipe is as good or better. I did make a couple changes. I deleted the mushrooms my present wife hates mushrooms, I would like to keep her. I did not use the Parmesan cheese either. I did add crushed red peppers, a little fresh parsley and I know that oregano never goes in spaghetti sauce but I did the unthinkable(just a little). We usually feed the dogs the left over spaghetti, not this time. The dogs want me to go back to Prego, They love spaghetti. Great recipe THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I thought that this recipe was absoluetley excellent. However, the serving size should be changed to account for at least 12 people. But overall, I loved the recipe (I added turkey burger to the sauce and it turned out awesome).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I thought this was pretty good. Next time, I will omit the tomato sauce and add a cup or so of extra water instead. This recipe makes quite a lot of sauce....enough for four dinners for my family of 6. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This is a really good place to start if you are learning to make spaghetti sauce. I made it following the directions the first time, and after that I started to tweak it to my family's taste. This recipe is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME- UNTIL I added the cheese! It became sickeningly sweet and everyone was disappointed! I was sad that I put so much effort into this and everyone was commenting on how great it tasted and smelled during frequent taste tests but that 1/4 cup of Parmesan Cheese completely destroyed the taste! WARNING! This recipe is so huge that you will have a difficult time fitting it into a normal pot! Will feed at least 15 guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States