Mom's Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
USE BROWN SUGAR INSTEAD OF WHITE> COME ON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I can hardly wait to use this recipe to make a pizza sauce. My mom used to make one that was AWESOME and as far as I can recall, very similar to this one. She's in the early stages of Alzheimer's nowso doesn't recall her exact recipe. Hers had sliced green olives added, was chunky with lots of onion and she always used cheddar cheese on her pizza which had a lot of sauce ladeled on. I was in high school before I knew that pizza was *supposed* to have white cheese. Her pizza was so awesome that she could can jars of the sauce and give as gifts and the recipients would almost cry in gratitude. :o) Thanks for posting this! I think it will be a good base from which to start recreating her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Tastes wonderful, easy to make, but the time it takes to cook it is kind of a turnoff even though it is worthwhile. Could use a wee bit of personalization in terms of spices and stuff. I'll make it again, but on a cold winter day when it's OK if I heat up the house! ;O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Very tasty sauce, needs a little of personalizing with some chili spice to give it a zing!But its good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Way too bland and didn't like the brownish color I believe to be caused from the baking soda. I think, forget the baking soda first off, but this recipe needs so much tweaking I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I was disappointed with this sauce it took a long time to make such a bland sauce. I even added extra garlic, and some oregano and it didn't improve the flavor. I guess I like a sauce with a little more zing and personality than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This is a good recipe for starters. I am 100% italian and my family owns restuarants all over where I live. My homemade recipe is very similar to this, however I deleted the mushrooms, parmesan cheese, and the baking soda. I add a little more garlic then this recipe calls for and NO water. I also add oregano to mine. When cooking it is important to cook the onions and garlic in some olive oil first. This brings out the flavor. I also add the fresh parsley basil and oregano (chopped), and salt and pepper to that first and cook a few minutes. Then I add the whole tomatoes and the juice in the can, very important to take your hands to them and crush them a little. I let that come to a boil first before adding the sauce. After adding the sauce, I simmer and let it cook for 3 or 4 hours, stirring occasionally with the lid partially on. I also add additional seasoning as I taste and go along. What really turns the sauce unbelievably awesome is that I make meatballs seperately in a frying pan and once they are cooked I add them to the sauce during the last hour. WOW! gives the sauce such an awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Excellent! We have this everytime we make spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I don't mind spending time on a sauce, but this one is NOT worth the effort. Even after a significant amount of doctoring it up, it was still bland and unimpressive. You will not be happy with the results no matter what, and you especially won't be happy after you invest 6 hours or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
A great recipe...thanks! My husband doesn't like spaghetti, but he liked this sauce. I made a few changes, I added a little more garlic than called for and toward the end I added cornstarch+water mixture to make it really thick (we hate runny sauce). I added ground beef, but it doesn't need it. A good recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States