Mom's Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic base recipe for a delicious sauce, and easily customizable to your preferences! This sauce is extremely versatile- I've made it with ground turkey for spaghetti, used it on eggplant to make eggplant parmesan, used it as a pizza sauce, the list goes on! Make a big batch and freeze it. I usually add a little extra garlic/onion, one red and one green bell pepper, some shaved carrots/zucchini, and a dash of hot sauce or cayenne pepper. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great placed to start. So much can be added! Some chopped peppers and and a dash of tabasco sauce to begin. More basil. You can really get creative with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe is a keeper. Better than a jar any day. Like another, I did omit the water, baking soda and parmesan. Just didn't feel it would need those. The sauce was of a perfect consistancey and full of flavor. I served it over a breaded chicken patti crowned with a good bit of mozzeralla. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This sauce is so delicious. I edited based on a previous reviewers (Debra) comments. I didn't use water nor did I use the cheese. I put in some italian seasoning, basil, oregano, etc. It was definitely a smart idea to sautee the onions and garlic first in the pot - then just add the tomatoes (use crushed if you can - though there's no shame in hand smashing the whole peeled canned tomato). I tested the sauce through out the almost 4 hour cooking process and added spices as needed. I added homemade turkey meatballs for the last two hours. I had enough to freeze for later and enough to serve tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This will be my new sauce from now on! I followed other reviews and made a few changes. Definately add some wine. I used 1/2 c. White Zin, which is all I had open, but dry white would also be good. I omited the mushrooms (not a fan) and added some oregano. Skipped the parm cheese per suggestion and added more garlic. Making pizza today using it as the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I added oregano and bell peppers and black olives. The sauce tasted okay. It wasn't really worth the effort to me, though. I don't think I liked the baking soda. I used a tiny amount and let it cook for over half-an-hour after I added the last pinch, but it just did something I didn't like. I'm going to stick with simpler recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great simple sauce. Full of flavor. Try adding 1 tbsp. sugar, but make sure to stir often so it doesn't burn at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I thought the recipe was only fair. It was quite bland for my tastebuds and required a lot more seasonings. I also thought it had too much tomato paste. If I make it again I will use 1/2 the tomato paste, and more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed this direction exactly as directed and was disappointed. I ended up throwing the sauce out. It was bland and tasted like canned tomatoes. I probably could have saved it with additional spices - but didn't have time before the dinner party to continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I was disappointed with this sauce. My boyfriend and I didn't think it tasted any different than jar sauce. The only difference was that it was sweeter due to the sugar. I followed the recipe and cooked it all day and let it sit overnight. I started it on the stove and then put it in the crockpot on low for the rest of the duration. The only thing I did differnet was add more basil, garlic and other seasonings which we couldn't taste anyway. I also changed the serving size. The flavor was just "alright". After reading all the reviews I thought it would be great. My co-worker tasted the sauce and said the same thing..it's not spectacular. It's alright. I've made worse and I've also made better. I won't make this again. Very disappointing. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States