Mom's Best Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic base recipe for a delicious sauce, and easily customizable to your preferences! This sauce is extremely versatile- I've made it with ground turkey for spaghetti, used it on eggplant to make eggplant parmesan, used it as a pizza sauce, the list goes on! Make a big batch and freeze it. I usually add a little extra garlic/onion, one red and one green bell pepper, some shaved carrots/zucchini, and a dash of hot sauce or cayenne pepper. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great placed to start. So much can be added! Some chopped peppers and and a dash of tabasco sauce to begin. More basil. You can really get creative with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe is a keeper. Better than a jar any day. Like another, I did omit the water, baking soda and parmesan. Just didn't feel it would need those. The sauce was of a perfect consistancey and full of flavor. I served it over a breaded chicken patti crowned with a good bit of mozzeralla. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This sauce is so delicious. I edited based on a previous reviewers (Debra) comments. I didn't use water nor did I use the cheese. I put in some italian seasoning, basil, oregano, etc. It was definitely a smart idea to sautee the onions and garlic first in the pot - then just add the tomatoes (use crushed if you can - though there's no shame in hand smashing the whole peeled canned tomato). I tested the sauce through out the almost 4 hour cooking process and added spices as needed. I added homemade turkey meatballs for the last two hours. I had enough to freeze for later and enough to serve tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This will be my new sauce from now on! I followed other reviews and made a few changes. Definately add some wine. I used 1/2 c. White Zin, which is all I had open, but dry white would also be good. I omited the mushrooms (not a fan) and added some oregano. Skipped the parm cheese per suggestion and added more garlic. Making pizza today using it as the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I added oregano and bell peppers and black olives. The sauce tasted okay. It wasn't really worth the effort to me, though. I don't think I liked the baking soda. I used a tiny amount and let it cook for over half-an-hour after I added the last pinch, but it just did something I didn't like. I'm going to stick with simpler recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great simple sauce. Full of flavor. Try adding 1 tbsp. sugar, but make sure to stir often so it doesn't burn at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I thought the recipe was only fair. It was quite bland for my tastebuds and required a lot more seasonings. I also thought it had too much tomato paste. If I make it again I will use 1/2 the tomato paste, and more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed this direction exactly as directed and was disappointed. I ended up throwing the sauce out. It was bland and tasted like canned tomatoes. I probably could have saved it with additional spices - but didn't have time before the dinner party to continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I was disappointed with this sauce. My boyfriend and I didn't think it tasted any different than jar sauce. The only difference was that it was sweeter due to the sugar. I followed the recipe and cooked it all day and let it sit overnight. I started it on the stove and then put it in the crockpot on low for the rest of the duration. The only thing I did differnet was add more basil, garlic and other seasonings which we couldn't taste anyway. I also changed the serving size. The flavor was just "alright". After reading all the reviews I thought it would be great. My co-worker tasted the sauce and said the same thing..it's not spectacular. It's alright. I've made worse and I've also made better. I won't make this again. Very disappointing. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States