Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this is so simple just follow the directions. I made a single batch and it was so good that my family and friends made me make two ( 2 ) more batches. the first batch I made I added more peanuts 1/2 cup love peanuts but was to many, the recipe measurements are just right I will not add extra anything again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
For the people who complain that the brittle does not harden, it's most likely because you are not cooking the brittle until a full 300 degrees F. That is critical, otherwise you get gummy, teeth sticking taffy. I have made this recipe for years and it always comes out terrific (except for the time my candy thermometer malfunctioned and I ended up with taffy). Also, I leave out the water, it's really not a required addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe turned out great.I make it year around for my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My first time ever making peanut brittle and this was so easy. I took all the advice; lined pan with foil, kept the pan warm in a 275 oven, had a pot of boiling water ready to put the thermometer and spoon right into for easier clean up, had the butter & baking soda ready, used 1 3/4 cups salted peanuts and put them in at 250, omitted the other salt and added 1 tsp vanilla. It was so easy and is so delicious! I will keep this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
really easy to make! Followed some of the suggestions and kept foil lined pan warm. Doubled recipe and used extra 1/2 cup peanuts. Best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years. It is easy to do and everyone asks me to make it year after year! I put the candy on a wax sheet on a cookie sheet to easily lift it from the pan and break it to pieces after it hardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: David City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mramming
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great recipe, first time ever making peanut brittle, and turned out perfect. I used blanched peanuts, so less of a chance to scorch. Added at about 240 degrees. I heated the baking sheet to 275 degrees so brittle wouldn't set up too quickly while being spread out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mramming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is so much easier than it should be. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Nice Nice recipe! I used this to make a few batches of sugar free brittle for my father at his request. I did make the 1st batch as written before making the changes to suit my diabetic father. Both ways were rather good. And I'm sure he will be most satisfied being able to enjoy his batch that was made with Splenda & sugar free honey alternative...note, agave doesn't work well as I have found. However, this recipe should be well received as my children liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made peanut brittle. This is a pretty easy recipe that yields good results. I made two batches. After reading the other reviews, I concur that this recipe was written for raw Spanish peanuts to be used, otherwise you need to add the peanuts to the sugar later than called for in the directions. I added the vanilla in the second batch I made as suggested by others, but liked it better without. A good candy thermometer is helpful to have when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States