Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
WOW!!! I did have a parchment paper lined pan, with the parchment sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, in the oven at 200. That helped the candy spread evenly. No problem with burning. I used unsalted peanuts and added them at the end. I did add 2 tsp of vanilla extract just before the butter and soda went in. Oh, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Perfect recipe! I love pecans, so I used those instead of peanuts. I accidentally let temperature raise to nearly 350 deg, but still turned out delicious! Perfect color, sheen & crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is tasty and fairly easy. I would definitely recommend adding the peanuts at 250 degrees, as they seem to scorch quite easily otherwise. I also started using about 1 1/2 cups-2 cups of peanuts, otherwise you get a fair amount of brittle at the edges without peanuts. Not the best recipe ever, but certainly much easier than many of the tastier one's I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Definitely adjust the amount of peanuts to your liking but wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrivateprawR
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Came out great and easy to make. I prefer to use peeled halved peanuts. I think it looked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe is awesome. It was my first attempt at making peanut brittle and I could not believe how easy it was. I used cashews instead of peanuts and it turned out so great that I immediately made a second batch. I used a silpat and sprayed with Emeril's butter spray and no problems with setting up or lifting off. Can't wait to make more, although it's quite addictive. Hated to tell my Mom it was better than hers but wanted to share this recipe with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
OMGosh! This recipe was fabulous! I never made peanut brittle before and this turned out better than I had ever hoped. I have heard horror stories about too thick and too hard when making peanut brittle, so my expectations were very low and this was better than the most wonderful in any shop I ever bought from. Making it again this year to go in my neighbors goodies boxes. Now you know that it has to be good to do that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
FLAVOR, TEXTURE, EXCELLENT!!!! GUESS WHAT I'M GIVING FOR CHRISTMAS GIFTS THIS YEAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this is so simple just follow the directions. I made a single batch and it was so good that my family and friends made me make two ( 2 ) more batches. the first batch I made I added more peanuts 1/2 cup love peanuts but was to many, the recipe measurements are just right I will not add extra anything again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
For the people who complain that the brittle does not harden, it's most likely because you are not cooking the brittle until a full 300 degrees F. That is critical, otherwise you get gummy, teeth sticking taffy. I have made this recipe for years and it always comes out terrific (except for the time my candy thermometer malfunctioned and I ended up with taffy). Also, I leave out the water, it's really not a required addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States