Mom's Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe, I just made peanut brittle for the first time using this recipe, and it was a big hit. It was very easy to do for those of us who actually use a candy thermometer. Although I did change one thing I added a tiny bit of vanilla that sounded good from another recipe, and I waited until the brittle was exactly 300 degrees to add the peanuts, butter, and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this for a Secret Santa gift, normally I don't like peanut brittle but this was really good, even I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleenmcintosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved this recipe and I actually made a few variations to it that I enjoyed... for "spicy" peanut brittle, as 1/4 cup diced Serrano peppers to the batch and you will have a deliciously surprising treat! I also made a double batch with 1/2 cup peanuts and substituted for the peanuts, 2 cups shaved natural unsweetened coconut and added 1/8 cup of Indian (from India- bought at Costco) dried crushed red peppers..... spicy peaco brittle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine61967

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I've made this recipe 4 times in the last 2 days. Except for the addition of vanilla, I've followed the recipe. For those that are saying it won't harden, I suggest you get a new thermometer. It's a scientific impossibility for it to be soft if you cook the mixture to the hard crack stage. I've read suggestions to check your thermometer regularly... they do go bad. I've had it happen to me. Note to self: do not use a plastic/nylon spoon. It will melt. Another note, while at the grocery store I happened to look at the peanut brittle. Store bought has nothing on this. Hardly peanuts in the store bought version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very easy to make. Had made without a candy thermometer before, but with one makes it easier and takes out the guesswork. Added 1tsp vanilla at end as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The taste was decent but somewhere along the line, something went wrong. I was following this recipe exactly and all of a sudden my mixture began to disappear and eventually just crystalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have tried numerous times to make this exact recipe....Followed everything to a T exactly to 300 degrees....Stuff never hardened...Turned into a Taffy consistency Liked to have NEVER got it out of cookie sheet even with it greased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Used pecans instead of peanuts and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveithot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is THE BEST peanut brittle recipie! RAVE, RAVE, RAVE compliments on it from family and co-workers (and these co-workers are men). My husband thinks I should take orders and sell it. Everything about it is perfect. Crisp and light...not tooth-breaking hard. I will certainly be making this a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I make this every Christmas and give it out in gift bundles. It's expected now and i constantly get asked for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States