Mom's Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wow!! This is the best meatloaf I have ever had! I did have to make a few substitutions because of things I had in my pantry...I used balsamic vinegar (didn't have any regular), V8 juice for the tomato juice and tomato paste instead of ketchup. My husband raved about the wonderful taste and texture....we will definitely be enjoying this recipe again and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I have made this 5 times in 2 months and it never gets old. This is probably the best meatloaf recipe I have ever had. The only tweak I added was 1 1/2 cups of chopped red/orange/yellow/green peppers. I suggest you try it original before experimenting, you will NOT be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I had been searching high and low for a meatloaf that would blow my mind and this was it! It was amazing! It just melts in your mouth! Best meat loaf I ever had. My girlfriend and I made it for my grandmother and it was the best she'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
The flavor is nice but it is far too moist, I even used tomato sauce instead of juice and it was still too wet. Fell completely apart instead of being able to cut into slices. Also had too much filler. Next time I will keep the tomato sauce, skip the water and cut bread crumbs in half. I would suggest making a loaf and cooking in a lasagna pan so that the grease can drain away. Update: I originally rated a 3 as it was too moist. I think the problem was that I used storebought breadcrumbs. Have to change it to 5, which is how it came out with modifications due to not using homemade breadcrumbs. (half the breadcrumbs, sauce instead of juice, and no water) The topping is amazing, even if you use a different recipe, you must try the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Family loved it! Especialy my husband who is a big meat and potatoes guy. I realy liked the taste and texture that the different grains gave to the meatloaf. thanks for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaiscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Excellent recipe! I actually was looking for a good "base" recipe for use w/ ground venison & this fit that bill nicely! The "trigger" ingredient was the liquid smoke. I also added 1/4 cup more onions, a clove of crushed garlic & 1 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce as per other reviews. I substituted diced tomatoes for the juice, as that's all I had on hand (it was fine). Due to the use of venison, I added 2+ Tbs of bacon grease & an additional egg. (The kids all used ketchup on it, because they always do, but we adults did not.) I like a "brown-gravy" based meatloaf vs. tomatoe based, which is why I gave it 4 of 5 stars. The rest of the family gave it 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe, Carolyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
THE VERY BEST!!! I won't make any other meatloaf now!! Worth the time to put the extra ingredients in. FABULOUS!!! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
A super meatloaf. Don't bother with any of the others, this one rocks. Excellent consistency and tastes great on sandwiches hot or cold. Thanks for sharing, I've found the perfect meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This recipe is excellent! My Mom's meatloaf wasn't this good. I added chopped green pepper and some crushed red pepper for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Awww, Geez!! This was mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States