Mom's Best Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and it was yummy. Don't need to change a thing. It comes out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was good, but not spectacular. I read a lot of reviews. Some complained that it was too runny, so instead of tomato juice I used tomato paste mixed with a bit of water. Others said it was bland so I added 1 tsp. each of black pepper and garlic powder. Lastly, I made 1.5 time the glaze. Those changes all helped, but the final product was still tasty but not incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
loved it, I had to substitute grape nuts ceral for the corn meal. It sounds strange, but it was a successful. Everyone loved the topping. It had the right amount smoke, sweet and zip. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Disapointed. Based on the reviews, I expected something much more. Just your average meatloaf. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I baked this the day before we actually ate it. I added some minced garlic and a tsp. of Mrs.Dash 'original blend'. It could have used 'a little something' for more flavor (I would have put in some chopped celery if I'd had it.) Also, maybe next time I'll use 2 eggs, as it didn't hold together well once I reheated it. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Made this meatloaf yesterday. Was weary about adding the cornmeal to it, I did and I'm glad I did. I have to say this was the best meatloaf I've had in a long time. The only thing different that I did was to add a very strips of bacon over the top of the sauce/meatloaf, cause my guy likes bacon so much, it was really good. Made with real mashed potatoes and corn on th cob. Awesome! Passing this recipe to my friends to try. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Anthony
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I added 1/4 of a green pepper and left out the smoke flavor because I like one and not the other. As far as rateing my finished product, it was pretty good but I'm still looking for the perfect recipe for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Delicious! This is the only meatloaf I can get my kids to eat. I don't modify the recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Love the firm texture of this meatloaf. It makes great sandwiches! The family did find the overall flavor of the meatloaf a little bland. I think a little more spices (garlic, maybe cumin, or even some italian seasoning would go far) will make this a real winner in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My family loved this (especially me) and I usually am not a big fan of meatloaf. I did not have tomato juice so i substituted tomato sauce. I also punched holes on the top before adding topping so that flavor of topping gets into the meat. I also cooked this on a large cookie sheet rather than a loaf pan so that the meat would cook more evenly throughout. Thanks for the fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States