Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Totally awesome salad. I hate when people rate a recipe and then change everything about it so I probably shouldn't do this but I didn't put any sugar in it. It was plenty sweet just with the condensed milk. My family gobbled it up. I put tons of veggies in it to help me feel less guilty about all the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Between the sweetened condensed milk and the sugar this recipe is way too sweet. Macaroni salad is not supposed to taste like candy. I used the condensed milk and not the sugar and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I didn't have sweet condensed milk on hand and made this anyway. Instead of 1/2 cup of sugar, I only used 1/3. It was sweet enough as is. Omitted celery and used lemon cucumbers. It turn out very good. Prehaps for a more creamier consistancy next time I will add the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wow My family has made this a staple now for family get together. I do add a cup of chopped dill pickles. Makes it even better. Best darn Macaroni salad In the World Just don't count the calories. Treat yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was ok, but not my favourite. I found there was not enough acid / tang to counteract the sweet. I completely cut out the sugar and also added a bit of pickle juice to see if that would help. Maybe I will try again with less condenced milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
this was so amazing i was so worried about the sweetness but it was perfect the only thing i did different was omit the sugar there was no need for that cuz of the sweented milk this was a hit for my whole family thanks for such a good recipe ,it does make for perfect with people that have a large family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Pactricia Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good recipe! The only thing I would change is not using the sugar. The sweetened condensed milk would be plenty on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
BEST EVER!!!!! This is the best macaroni salad I have EVER had... I am not a fan of mac salad as it is usually too mayo-ee.. But this is just perfect. I made it the first time to bring to a dinner party, and got RAVE reviews. Now, mu husband asks for it weekly... Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, but you can cut down on the calories by doing these few steps and it still taste amazing. Use light mayo, only 1 cup, use condensed milk 1/2 the can or less, omit the sugar add raisins or craisins, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States