Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I just made this salad and it is amazing, but I did tweak it a bit after reading the reviews. I left out the sugar, only used half of the onion, and most importantly...cut the dressing in half! Even after a night in the fridge there was plenty of sweet creamy dressing but the other flavors had room to come through. Love, love this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I substituted frozen peas (thawed) for the carrots. And added cubed cheddar cheese. It is the dressing in this recipe that is so good. Sweet and tangy. The rest can easily be adjusted to your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious...but agree and will leave out sugar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Sunapee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I would give this ten stars if i could! Recipe owner is right...best macaroni salad i ever put in my mouth. We cut sugar down bc of condensed milk and left out celery. So delicious. Made it twice in past week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great recipe! This was my first time making macaroni salad and everyone enjoyed itnni did however omit the sugar after reading some reviews. The sweetened condensed milk was sweet enough. I will definitely make again but probably cut it in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I did not care for this. It was sweet but I guess sweet macaroni salad is not for me. I won't make this again. The sauce was more for coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this Macaroni Salad and tasted it before I added the Condensed milk. It tasted great. I added the condensed milk and now its to sweet:( Next time I make this I will either leave out the 1/2 Cup sugar or the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I mostly hate macaroni salad. This recipe made me fall in love again. I took some of the other advice about reducing the amount of sugar. Still was great. I say play around with the ingredient amounts and make this Keeper Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorja

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I had to come back and leave this review before I cleaned my kitchen up. I almost passed up on this recipe even with all the good reviews because of the condensed milk addition but I am so glad that I chose to make it. Like many others, I do not think the sugar is necessary so I left it out. Upon tasting the salad for the first time, my palate was in shock then came that old familiar desire for another bite and another bite and yet another bite. It's so good you don't want to stop eating....this takes Macaroni Salad to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My husband just loves this sweet salad! Nice turn from the usual pickle and egg version! Thanks, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States