Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I make this without the 1/2 cup of white sugar . The condensed milk is plenty sweet. Other wise this is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
The fact that you're adding raw carrots, bell peppers and celery to this delicious recipe keeps me a true fan. I have made this colorful salad many times, each time another group of friends ask for the recipe. There are many substitutions you can use to make it healthier, i.e. Raw honey, gluten free pasta, organic apple cider vinegar, etc., whatever your passion! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
This is a very good recipe and I will make it again. I doubled the pasta and veggies, but used just one can of the condensed milk and DID NOT add any sugar and it was still sweet enough. I also did not rinse the pasta after draining and allowed it to come to room temperature by just tossing it every few minutes. I learned that by allowing the starches to remain on the pasta after draining the dressing adheres better and seems creamier as a finished product. Also the shredded carrots added a nice texture and vibrant color and I also added most of a spring onion to the mix. This, plus red and yellow peppers and celery finely diced made for a beautiful looking and tasting salad to bring to any gathering. My batch served 35 with leftovers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
toooo sweeeet! I was very disappointed even after cutting the sugar in half. Never will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made this macaroni salad and I have to tell you that this is the BEST macaroni salad I have ever eaten. Don't change a thing in this recipe!!! I am a senior guy and this is a simple recipe. This is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
So incredibly good! Did not use sugar and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Soooooo good, great recipe! Everyone loved it, though next time i will omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Great recipe with the modifications listed in one of the previous reviews: omit the sugar and add 1 tsp dry mustard and 1 tbsp paprika. Makes a lot! Good for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Best macaroni salad hands down!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Made this for a BBq. great but did not add the suger--- only used 1/4 cup of sweet milk little bit of vinegar only bit of my home made mustard.. it was great just right. other wise this would have been to , sweet.!!! Go by taste!!!. will make again .....M Martinez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States