Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made this yesterday and served it today. Fiance's exact words, "That mac salad was amazing. I think it's the best I ever had." I'm not a huge mac salad fan, but he is. And I did like it too! I was scared by the amount of sugar this recipe said to add. I did as many other reviewers did and omitted the sugar. In fact, I didn't even add all the condensed milk! I added probably 2/3 of a can. I added a lot of pepper and salt and it was delicious! My recommendation would be to go light on the milk and no sugar, then continue to add to your taste. One other note, it's very "soupy" when you first make it. Stir a few times during the next 8-12+ hours and it really creams/thickens up nicely! Def make a day ahead of time as the flavors really come together well!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Awesome I did not add sugar as other suggested and added dry mustard, powdered garlic, and peperika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was so yummy and simple! I've made many pasta salads, but this had the perfect blend of flavors. Adding this to my monthly recipes! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
No one liked it. To sweet. It was not worth the effort. Too much sauce. never making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konrad Schneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used veggie based noodles - lots of color :0) and this is the best pasta salad ever!! I left out the sugar, added dry mustard to taste, added peas-- great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Anne Lange
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Do NOT add the sugar! Haha.. sweet enough without, trust me! Delish otherwise. Will use this recipe from now on!!! I also added small shrimp and fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Anne Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made this salad for the first time yesterday, and it is wonderful! I always have trouble getting the dressing right for macaroni salad, and this one was so easy. I followed the directions completely, no additions or deletions. I usually put tomatoes and cucumbers in my salad and I could have done that, but even without them, this was great. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
this is exactly what I was looking for. I left out the peppers and added 1 cup cubed longhorn cheddar. Reduced sugar perhaps a few tablespoons. Very good recipe. As stated before it is the dressing that makes this so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
loved loved it! thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made this recipe today for a family dinner of 6. In Canada our sweetened condensed milk is 300 ml. the equivalent to approx 10 oz, so 4 ozs less than the receipt called for. I added 1/8 c of sugar to make the difference & loved it plus so did everyone else & there was very little left over once my mom took some for their next meal. I also did what one person said & that was to make the macaroni el dente and not rinse it as the sauce gets more absorbed & it worked. My sister in law wants the recipe. This is one that I will use over and over again. Thanks Spinderella! From Saucykats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States