Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I didn't have sweet condensed milk on hand and made this anyway. Instead of 1/2 cup of sugar, I only used 1/3. It was sweet enough as is. Omitted celery and used lemon cucumbers. It turn out very good. Prehaps for a more creamier consistancy next time I will add the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wow My family has made this a staple now for family get together. I do add a cup of chopped dill pickles. Makes it even better. Best darn Macaroni salad In the World Just don't count the calories. Treat yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was ok, but not my favourite. I found there was not enough acid / tang to counteract the sweet. I completely cut out the sugar and also added a bit of pickle juice to see if that would help. Maybe I will try again with less condenced milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
this was so amazing i was so worried about the sweetness but it was perfect the only thing i did different was omit the sugar there was no need for that cuz of the sweented milk this was a hit for my whole family thanks for such a good recipe ,it does make for perfect with people that have a large family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Pactricia Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good recipe! The only thing I would change is not using the sugar. The sweetened condensed milk would be plenty on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
BEST EVER!!!!! This is the best macaroni salad I have EVER had... I am not a fan of mac salad as it is usually too mayo-ee.. But this is just perfect. I made it the first time to bring to a dinner party, and got RAVE reviews. Now, mu husband asks for it weekly... Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, but you can cut down on the calories by doing these few steps and it still taste amazing. Use light mayo, only 1 cup, use condensed milk 1/2 the can or less, omit the sugar add raisins or craisins, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I would give 5 stars but I didnt use green peppers or red peppers. I always use carrots, and black olives and sometimes I switch it up and do cucumbers and tomatoes, but the dressing alone is great and if u eve want it less sweet do less sugar or omit it due to the sweetened milk it gives the sweetness wonderful idea thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I was never a big macaroni salad person it always seemed too dry but this was an awesome recipe and everybody raved. I was sceptical about the sweet milk but that is what made this dish so delicious. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States