Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've added black olives in mine and every time I make it I get the same feedback on how amazing it is and if they can have the recipe... even get calls days following the event i made it for. No one believes me that I followed a recipe online! This is a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this for Christmas luncheon at work. Left out the white sugar. I am not a fan of onions so if I make this again, I will leave out the onion too. I will definitely use the sauce mixture again. Just the right combination between sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlittle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Amazing recipe, the only things I changed was decrease sugar and vinegar to a 1/4 cup each. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bockmon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving & let's just say wow...it is amazing. Best macaroni salad ever. I did make a few changes...I left out the red bell pepper & also omitted the sugar because the sweetened condensed milk seemed to be enough. This my new go to recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Good recipe, but like some of the other reviews, leave out the sugar. Other than that, was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I am not one to review recipes very often but I could not in good conscience not review this one. People you need to make this recipe. I did make some changes however I don't feel it changed the overall recipe. You can make that decision. 1) I used macaroni salad noodles instead of elbow. 2) Replaced green onions for the red. 3) Used yellow & red bell peppers (instead of green & red). 4) I didn't measure out mayo, just spooned but came pretty close to recipe measurements. 5) Omitted sugar all together & used 1/2 can (7 oz.) condensed sweetened milk (husband diabetic). 6) Used several hefty shakes of rice vinegar instead of white. 7) I did add the carrots, celery & salt/pepper per recipe. I made and refrigerated overnight for maximum flavor. Boy was it flavorful. I don't usually get excited about or even serve myself this type of salad but this one was just way too good to pass on. I doubled the recipe for 50 people and happily finished off the little teeny bit that was left. Do yourself and family a favor and make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have made this 4 times and cannot keep it....often I find my family opening the door and sneaking a bite....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It went over very well with all! Got allot of compliments! Love it.. Thanks Spiderella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is the best macaroni salad I've ever had. I usually like macaroni salad, but always find I can't have too much of it because the mayo is so overpowering. Not in this! It is wonderfully dressed; sweet but still tangy. The only thing I omitted was the sugar and that was after I tasted it just before adding the pasta. Like many others I found it perfectly sweet with just the condensed milk. I used garden rotini for the color factor. I only needed 3 carrots, personally, but I didn't think they were overly large, I just think four would've been a lot after I shredded them. I only used half of a red onion, but I think I could've used the whole thing and been fine, but I did have some fresh sweet onions from the garden I needed to use up so I had about a 1/4 cup of that. I used red, green, AND orange peppers, again for color. The celery is the only thing I measured, but would probably add an extra half+ cup more of it next time. I might try olives next time, but I don't care too much for them. Other than that, I think you can use whatever veggies you would like and have no problems. The dressing would probably be good on a regular salad, too, or even a sandwich, it is THAT delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States