Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
this is by far one of the best mac salads wish i new how to cut it in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Too sweet and fatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I love this salad and everyone that has tasted it has to..... Great potluck idea or for large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Way too sweet. I read other reviews and omitted the sugar, added 2 TBSP spicy mustard and 1 tsp paprika. Still so sweet I ended up rinsing the entire bowl and starting over without the milk and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was excellent and just what I wanted. I don't like those macaroni salads with a dressing that is just bland mayo. My only changes were to (1) fail to make it 8+ hours ahead of time (thanks, chest freezer, for quickly chilling my salad!), (2) to follow the other reviewers in omitting the sugar, and (3) to use one green bell pepper instead of half a red and half a green. (Personal notes: 1 cup celery = 4 stalks. Maybe up the pasta to everything else ratio. Boil pasta in LARGEST pot, make up veggies and dressing in largest red bowl, drain and rinse pasta and return to pot, transfer dressed veggies to pot to mix, then return everything to red bowl (before or after chilling) for presentation. Red bowl is large enough to hold, but too small to mix.) 12.24.13 - Made half a batch for garbage plates, left out carrot (as that doesn't keep well in this salad), and doubled the celery. (You can freeze the other half of the can of sweetened condensed milk.) 02.02.14 - Made a whole batch for garbage plates for a party. White onion (out of red), more celery instead of carrots, 1 red bell pepper instead of 1/2 green and 1/2 red. 04.27.14 - Half a batch fits nicely in the 8-cup storage containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
At first when I read this recipe, I thought that there was too much liquid in it. I reread it and watched the video, and made the salad... There was too much liquid and it is really sloppy. I still have it in the fridge and will check it tomorrow to see if it is still runny. I wonder if it could be that I live above 5000 feet in SLC...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Excellent recipe for a crowd. I love the eye appeal with the variety of colors, and most important is the great taste. I love the sweet flavor. I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Yum! Left out the sugar, almost doubled everything but the dressing and it was delish, still nice and creamy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As written, this is was way too sweet, even after I eliminated the sugar and only used half the sweetened milk. I think a quarter can would be about right. At least that is how I plan to make it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is really good. I did add a couple of eggs and I didn't use the sugar. Eagle Brand milk has plenty of sugar in it. IMO. The salad was a nice change from the usual. Wouldn't make it often, but a nice different salad. BTW, the recipe is huge, I cut in half and still had enough for 8 people with leftovers (and that included a 16 year old boy that eats like a horse).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States