Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I made this recipe today (5/4/13, going to have this with fried Chicken that I'm going to cook once I finish this review. I did not let it set in the refrigerator overnight, but, I had it resting in the freezer, and every hour I took it out to give it a stir so that the flavors can blend together for about 4 hours. I really did not wanted to use a whole can of sweet condensed milk in it, but I did (not knowing what to do with the rest of it). I also added sweet Pickle Relish to the dish because that is something I was use to having every time I had either macaroni salad or potato salad, also added paprika to the top of the dish. Very good dish, very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sly Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is the most asked for recipe every time I take it somewhere. It is definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is awesome...I don't add the sugar, it makes it too sweet. It is a big hit every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Did not add the sugar, used fat free condensed milk and 1 1/2c lite mayo. I used a bag of veggie spiral pasta 14oz bag. I love all of the veggies mixed in. will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I used unsweetened evaporated milk 1/4 of a cup and 1/2 tsp of sugar, because I know my own taste.Vinegar also was reduced to a 1tsp.Sometimes you have to use your head when following a new recipe.I kept the bell pepper green,red onion,celery,I also added cup of shredded cheddar cheese.Very good the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Amazing! I add diced ham, shredded cheese and a little extra salt to balance the sweetness. It looks like there's too much dressing but after sitting overnight the noodles soak it all in and it is just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Would have been better without all that sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this recipe but took the advice of other reviewers and omitted the sugar altogether. I'm also not a fan of raw onions so I left those out. This recipe is definitely best when made the day before you plan to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coop816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It was good but not great. I was expecting more flavor than they had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
People were haggling over the leftovers when I took this to a potluck. It was the "WHO made THAT?" dish. I don't need another macaroni salad recipe. To save money I limited it to green peppers, and I suggest making it a scant half cup not a very full one. So delicious! We're making it, and I know I'm going to have to control myself, because it's too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States