Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add a little more mayo because I like it saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Way too sweet!!! I didn't use the 1/2 cup sugar either. I thought it sounded too sweet using sweetened condensed milk, but it has such good reviews I wanted to try. To try to tone the sweetness down I added 1/2 cup more mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup more vinegar. It was still too sweet for my taste and I do like a mildly sweet macaroni salad. Anyway I served to my weekend guests, they said it was ok, but nobody came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
All I can say is thank you for sharing, never changed a thing and it is delicious! Have already been asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is soooooo darn good. I made this for the 4th of July and my family loved it. It was pretty sweet and I would omit the sugar next time. This was a big hit and my family is very picky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
this is by far one of the best mac salads wish i new how to cut it in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Too sweet and fatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I love this salad and everyone that has tasted it has to..... Great potluck idea or for large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Way too sweet. I read other reviews and omitted the sugar, added 2 TBSP spicy mustard and 1 tsp paprika. Still so sweet I ended up rinsing the entire bowl and starting over without the milk and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was excellent and just what I wanted. I don't like those macaroni salads with a dressing that is just bland mayo. My only changes were to (1) fail to make it 8+ hours ahead of time (thanks, chest freezer, for quickly chilling my salad!), (2) to follow the other reviewers in omitting the sugar, and (3) to use one green bell pepper instead of half a red and half a green. (Personal notes: 1 cup celery = 4 stalks. Maybe up the pasta to everything else ratio. Boil pasta in LARGEST pot, make up veggies and dressing in largest red bowl, drain and rinse pasta and return to pot, transfer dressed veggies to pot to mix, then return everything to red bowl (before or after chilling) for presentation. Red bowl is large enough to hold, but too small to mix.) 12.24.13 - Made half a batch for garbage plates, left out carrot (as that doesn't keep well in this salad), and doubled the celery. (You can freeze the other half of the can of sweetened condensed milk.) 02.02.14 - Made a whole batch for garbage plates for a party. White onion (out of red), more celery instead of carrots, 1 red bell pepper instead of 1/2 green and 1/2 red. 04.27.14 - Half a batch fits nicely in the 8-cup storage containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
At first when I read this recipe, I thought that there was too much liquid in it. I reread it and watched the video, and made the salad... There was too much liquid and it is really sloppy. I still have it in the fridge and will check it tomorrow to see if it is still runny. I wonder if it could be that I live above 5000 feet in SLC...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States