Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Addictive. Didn't add the extra sugar. May put a teensy bit more vinegar next time to make it more tart. Will also try with a lower fat mayo. Used bag of Aldi stir fry vegetables. They were PERFECT and eliminated the chopping. The bag even had water chestnuts and little baby corn. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was okay, nothing terrible, nothing great, just kind of bland. I added 1 tsp. of dry mustard, 1 Tbsp of hot paprika, 1 Tbsp of sweet paprika and 3 chopped hard-boiled eggs. I STRONGLY suggest you taste this before you add the sugar- it is already sweet and the sugar addition completely overwhelms it. This can be made the night before and it keeps beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this for my partner who loves Amish Macaroni salad that has some sweetness to it and he loved it! I omitted the sugar and added 3 tblsp of spicy brown mustard and sliced up 1/2 can of black olives...It was perfect. Im not into sweet salads myself but I thought this one was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have used your recipe for several years now and it's the best! Always compliments and request for the recipe. It took me over forty years of recipes to find what I was looking for. Thank you and thanks Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Great easy recipe. I do not add the sugar as it is already sweet enough. I also prepare it a day ahead of time so the flavors can blend. Big hit with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe is really good with a few provisos. First and foremost cut the sugar by at least half. It is way to sweet with a half-cup sugar. I also use Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise. Next, there is no way you can make this in 30 minutes time. It takes me several hours at least to chop up all the veggies. I make up the sauce first, add the veggies as they are chopped up, and then cook, cool, drain, and add the pasta. I use rotini instead of macaroni. The sauce sticks to it better. This is a very tasty salad. Try it, you will like it. Just be sure to cut the sugar by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Huge hit in my house! I didn't even get it into the fridge before my son n law started snacking on it. He raved about the flavor of the sauce and wanted to keep eating it. I had to cover it and put a padlock on it to keep him from eating it all before our bbq. I didn't use sugar at all, and I added mustard. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This salad isn't something ill make again...however it is edible,I left out the sugar and was still way too sweet,maybe use half the can of condensed milk but then what do you do with the other half? I also think way too much mayo!!!!just didn't enjoy eating a fat and calorie filled pasta salad..there's wayyyyyyy better recipes out there then this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Made this for a bbq, halved the recipe but shouldn't have. Everyone loved it. I always make the recipe exactly the way as written 1st time and then change as I see fit but would not change a thing with this, even adding the sugar. My mother raved over it and that's saying something. Thx for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add a little more mayo because I like it saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States