Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I did not care for this. It was sweet but I guess sweet macaroni salad is not for me. I won't make this again. The sauce was more for coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this Macaroni Salad and tasted it before I added the Condensed milk. It tasted great. I added the condensed milk and now its to sweet:( Next time I make this I will either leave out the 1/2 Cup sugar or the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I mostly hate macaroni salad. This recipe made me fall in love again. I took some of the other advice about reducing the amount of sugar. Still was great. I say play around with the ingredient amounts and make this Keeper Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorja

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I had to come back and leave this review before I cleaned my kitchen up. I almost passed up on this recipe even with all the good reviews because of the condensed milk addition but I am so glad that I chose to make it. Like many others, I do not think the sugar is necessary so I left it out. Upon tasting the salad for the first time, my palate was in shock then came that old familiar desire for another bite and another bite and yet another bite. It's so good you don't want to stop eating....this takes Macaroni Salad to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My husband just loves this sweet salad! Nice turn from the usual pickle and egg version! Thanks, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I have made this MANY times. However the first time I followed the instructions to a "T" and the result was way to sweet, now when I make it I Omit the 1/2 cup sugar it still has a nice sweetness from the condense milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Baran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really good just a little too sweet,kinda tastes like coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
All I can say is Sweetened Condensed Milk; who would have thought. This is the best mac salad I have every had. Did reduce sugar to 1/4 cup. AWESOME! Prepared for teachers appreciation cook-out and got a call 1/2 an hour after function was over - to request recipe. Wow how impressive is that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
EXCELLENT Recipe! Since I didn't have sweetened condensed milk on hand, I added the sugar instead. My husband said it was the best Macaroni Salad ever! Not sure how different the taste is by using the condensed milk and omitting the sugar, but we (and everyone else) loved it with the sugar and no condensed milk. This recipe is certainly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
this reminds me of that episode of "Friends" where Rachel puts beef and peas into her dessert trifle. Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States