Mom's Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
GREAT recipe-and I agree with the others-do not be fooled by the sweetened condensed milk--everyone that had it--loved it and wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made this again today, for the 5th time! Love this recipe! It's so fresh tasting and the vegies make it nice and crisp. I do omit half the sugar and only add enough dressing to moisten nicely (I usually have some left over) but to each his own. A keeper!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is so yummy!! Enjoy! Xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkCupcakes87

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Way too much sugar!!! I would omit nearly all of it and just add to your taste. I ruined my fist try because I followed the recipe and then tasted. No way to cover up that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this twice and both times it was delicious. However, the first time I used half the sugar in the recipe and I still thought it was sweet. So the second time I eliminated the sugar and it was perfect. The best thing about it is that since it has no cucumbers or other veggies prone to slime with time, it lasted several days tasting as good as day one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Totally awesome salad. I hate when people rate a recipe and then change everything about it so I probably shouldn't do this but I didn't put any sugar in it. It was plenty sweet just with the condensed milk. My family gobbled it up. I put tons of veggies in it to help me feel less guilty about all the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Between the sweetened condensed milk and the sugar this recipe is way too sweet. Macaroni salad is not supposed to taste like candy. I used the condensed milk and not the sugar and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I didn't have sweet condensed milk on hand and made this anyway. Instead of 1/2 cup of sugar, I only used 1/3. It was sweet enough as is. Omitted celery and used lemon cucumbers. It turn out very good. Prehaps for a more creamier consistancy next time I will add the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wow My family has made this a staple now for family get together. I do add a cup of chopped dill pickles. Makes it even better. Best darn Macaroni salad In the World Just don't count the calories. Treat yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was ok, but not my favourite. I found there was not enough acid / tang to counteract the sweet. I completely cut out the sugar and also added a bit of pickle juice to see if that would help. Maybe I will try again with less condenced milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States