Mom's Best Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very good and versitile recipe. I made it twice in a week. First time I used lg lima beans, a smoked turkey leg and chopped up plum tomatoes turned out great. I shared it with my friends and family. Second time was because my daughter's boyfriend & mother-in-law brought home a ham bone from Easter and ask that I make them some soup like I made the first time. Everyone loved it. Thank your mom for sharing and thank you for posting it. Im sure I will be making it for years to come. YUMMY =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used leftover spiral glazed ham, did not include the celery and used canned beans ... and it was fast AND delicious! All of this spices (which I happened to have had on hand) created a very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! This one for sure is a KEEPER! I will be making this again and again. The recipe is very interchangeable if you don't have all the ingredients that are listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I always follow the recipe as is the FIRST time. I wouldn't change a thing - FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Everyone loved this soup even my one yr old and 3 yr old! I didn't make this recipe in a pressure cooker, but it was easy to adapt. Otherwise, didn't change a thing and soup was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Excellent soup! I pressure cooked the beans and ham hock then threw the rest in the slow cooker on LOW for about 6 hours. Added pasta in the last 1/2 hour or so. It was savory and delicious and even better the 2nd day! Will definitely make this again. Even the bean soup critics at my house LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Olive oil provides wonderful flavor and is very good for you. Most italian soups I have seen, including bean soups have olive oil as well as recipes from many other countries. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
It was delicious only I omitted the olive oil. Never ever heard of using olive oil in bean soup (or any other soups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great flavor, the beans cooked perfectly. For our family it was too tomatoey for our liking (reminiscent of campbells tomato soup but with fresh ingredients and flavors). Good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was scouring the web looking for a tomato based soup and I stumbled on this and was elated. I had my Christmas Ham Bone and every other ingredient in my pantry. I made it to recipe except entirely in the pressure cooker. OMG it was so yummy and I loved the rich broth. I will make this everytime I have a Ham Bone and probably even when I don't Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Wolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States