Mom's Best Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very good and versitile recipe. I made it twice in a week. First time I used lg lima beans, a smoked turkey leg and chopped up plum tomatoes turned out great. I shared it with my friends and family. Second time was because my daughter's boyfriend & mother-in-law brought home a ham bone from Easter and ask that I make them some soup like I made the first time. Everyone loved it. Thank your mom for sharing and thank you for posting it. Im sure I will be making it for years to come. YUMMY =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
It was delicious only I omitted the olive oil. Never ever heard of using olive oil in bean soup (or any other soups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! This one for sure is a KEEPER! I will be making this again and again. The recipe is very interchangeable if you don't have all the ingredients that are listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used leftover spiral glazed ham, did not include the celery and used canned beans ... and it was fast AND delicious! All of this spices (which I happened to have had on hand) created a very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I always follow the recipe as is the FIRST time. I wouldn't change a thing - FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Excellent soup! I pressure cooked the beans and ham hock then threw the rest in the slow cooker on LOW for about 6 hours. Added pasta in the last 1/2 hour or so. It was savory and delicious and even better the 2nd day! Will definitely make this again. Even the bean soup critics at my house LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Everyone loved this soup even my one yr old and 3 yr old! I didn't make this recipe in a pressure cooker, but it was easy to adapt. Otherwise, didn't change a thing and soup was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Olive oil provides wonderful flavor and is very good for you. Most italian soups I have seen, including bean soups have olive oil as well as recipes from many other countries. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great flavor, the beans cooked perfectly. For our family it was too tomatoey for our liking (reminiscent of campbells tomato soup but with fresh ingredients and flavors). Good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I didn't have a pressure cooker so I made this in the crockpot, which of course took much longer, but I anticipated that and I didn't use the last 5 cups of water because there was no need. I thought it was too sweet. My husband even commented on it and added parmesan to his bowl. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States