Mom's Best Ham and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was scouring the web looking for a tomato based soup and I stumbled on this and was elated. I had my Christmas Ham Bone and every other ingredient in my pantry. I made it to recipe except entirely in the pressure cooker. OMG it was so yummy and I loved the rich broth. I will make this everytime I have a Ham Bone and probably even when I don't Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shartie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Was really good and my family loved it! Will be making this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Neugent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I don't have a pressure cooker so I had to adjust the recipe somewhat to make sure the beans were cooked. I have made this many times and love it. I like that it is somewhat sweet...and if you want more ham flavor , add diced ham to it, a great use for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made according to directions except for using no pressure cooker and 2 ham hocks, I did not like it although I had been hankering for something that sounds like this. It was too sweet and too tomatoey for me. Even with the extra ham hock, I couldn't taste the ham. If you want something that reminds you of a ketchupy meatloaf this might do. Out of 4 diners, we had three votes for 2-stars and one for 4. Now she has three lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I didn't have a pressure cooker so I made this in the crockpot, which of course took much longer, but I anticipated that and I didn't use the last 5 cups of water because there was no need. I thought it was too sweet. My husband even commented on it and added parmesan to his bowl. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great flavor, the beans cooked perfectly. For our family it was too tomatoey for our liking (reminiscent of campbells tomato soup but with fresh ingredients and flavors). Good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Olive oil provides wonderful flavor and is very good for you. Most italian soups I have seen, including bean soups have olive oil as well as recipes from many other countries. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Everyone loved this soup even my one yr old and 3 yr old! I didn't make this recipe in a pressure cooker, but it was easy to adapt. Otherwise, didn't change a thing and soup was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Excellent soup! I pressure cooked the beans and ham hock then threw the rest in the slow cooker on LOW for about 6 hours. Added pasta in the last 1/2 hour or so. It was savory and delicious and even better the 2nd day! Will definitely make this again. Even the bean soup critics at my house LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I always follow the recipe as is the FIRST time. I wouldn't change a thing - FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States