Mom's Best Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have made this multiple times, and its amazing, although I don't use the wheat germ or sunflower seeds. I wouldn't bake for 60-90 minutes, I bake it for about 8-10 minutes at 325, and it comes out lightly browned, any more and it burns & is very hard to get off the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Tasty, and not too sweet (which I like!). I divided the recipe between two cookie sheets, and I always bake my granola at a very low temperature, which gets it nice and crispy without burning. I baked this at 225 degrees for 1 hour 45 minutes, switching racks every 30 minutes. At this temperature, there is no need to stir with each switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This is an awesome recipe. It has the perfect amount of sweetness and the coconut takes on a toasted flavor that just makes this recipe better than anything you will buy in the store. I added some flax seed and some cranberry/raisins. This recipe is great just the way it is but also leaves room for you to personalize it to your own taste. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACIA70

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
great recipe with a few 'tweaks' to suit your tastes: like the other reviewers, I cut down the cooking time/temperature significantly (I cook it at 300 degrees for about 30-40 minutes, checking and stirring at 15-20 minute intervals, then I turn the oven off and let it sit in the oven as the oven cools off), skipped the sesame seeds and upped the sunflower seeds to 1/2 cup, sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg, added some minced orange zest, and some dried cranberries. I found it's best to add the dried fruit AFTER I turn the oven off, because if it's in there from the beginning it gets a burnt smell/taste. I've been making batches of this about once a month for the past year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My batch was over-cooked after 20 mins of cooking. Since I have a new oven (see other reviewer's comments), I think the time and temperature has to be adjusted. Also, I added cinnamon and used less sugar for more flavor and less sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marni
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I added dry roasted edemame and dried cranberries to give this color. Also I listened to other members and baked this @ 275 degrees for about 40-45 mins. Yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have been looking for a good granola recipe, and this is it! I did, however, have problems cooking it--mine was done in about 30 minutes. My oven is from 1962 or something, so it probably doesn't heat properly. After cooking the granola, this recipe is HIGHLY customizable. All in all, a delightful recipe and I will definately be making it again (and again and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I followed all the directions. Preheated the oven to 325 and in the first 1/2 hour everything was burnt. I was very disaapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Fabulous base recipe- add what you like or have on hand. Makes a good batch of granola at a fraction of the cost of prepackaged kind. Tastes much better too. I did decrease the bake time and added blueberries (yum). THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I added a little bit of cinnamon. Pecans, dried cramberries, dried apricots, rice kriespies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States