Mom's Best Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I'm sure this is a great recipe but my batch was burned! The cooking temp is way too high. I was really looking forward to this but I was left disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe is very good. I like it because you can add what you like and it is not too sweet. Like many of the other reviewers, I didn't cook it for the 60-90 minutes. I cooked it at 325 for 15 minutes and then just turned the oven off. It turned out perfect! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this granola and really loved it. I omitted the sesame seeds. I think baking it for an hour is quite long, my first batch was burned. I cut it down to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and it was perfect. I used dried cherries..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We made this and it was yummy! I added more brown sugar and left the sesame seeds out though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannaneats11
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
i also turned down the temp to 220 and stirred every 15 min. i had to leave so i just turned the oven of and let it toast till it was cool. oh and instead of water i substituted with orange juice and added orange craisins. i think next time i will try doubling the liquid portion... i like it a little clumpier. But over all it had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvboz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
great recipe with a few 'tweaks' to suit your tastes: like the other reviewers, I cut down the cooking time/temperature significantly (I cook it at 300 degrees for about 30-40 minutes, checking and stirring at 15-20 minute intervals, then I turn the oven off and let it sit in the oven as the oven cools off), skipped the sesame seeds and upped the sunflower seeds to 1/2 cup, sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg, added some minced orange zest, and some dried cranberries. I found it's best to add the dried fruit AFTER I turn the oven off, because if it's in there from the beginning it gets a burnt smell/taste. I've been making batches of this about once a month for the past year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Tasty, and not too sweet (which I like!). I divided the recipe between two cookie sheets, and I always bake my granola at a very low temperature, which gets it nice and crispy without burning. I baked this at 225 degrees for 1 hour 45 minutes, switching racks every 30 minutes. At this temperature, there is no need to stir with each switch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I am giving this 5 stars...the recipe itself is wonderful....however...it does NOT take 60-90 minutes to cook. I cut the salt in half due to the fact I used salted sunflower seeds...I didn't find sesame seeds so I couldn't use them...no big. I have made granola MANY times and know from experience to check it and STIR it every 15 minutes...go every 30 and it may burn and be ruined. I also used extra coconut because I LOVE it...and after it was done baking and cool I added dried cherries chopped in half to quarter pieces. **any fruit can be used..dates, raisins anything really** So...I can say I will keep this one in my book and use many times. THANK YOU for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have made this multiple times, and its amazing, although I don't use the wheat germ or sunflower seeds. I wouldn't bake for 60-90 minutes, I bake it for about 8-10 minutes at 325, and it comes out lightly browned, any more and it burns & is very hard to get off the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I added a little bit of cinnamon. Pecans, dried cramberries, dried apricots, rice kriespies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States