Mom's Beef and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I just made this for dinner tonight and I really enjoyed it. The beef turned out so lovely. My husband loved it as well. We did both decide that there should be less onion and more beer. The gravy was a bit thin but that might have been down to me not converting the measurements correctly. I also added potatoes which was really nice. I used Stella Artois because my husband isnt really a big beer drinker and loves Stella. Turned out lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Excellent combination of the beer with the different spices. Goes well with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tali H. R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shilo, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doestreich
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Served it with a big hunk of garlic bread to mop up the gravy. The meat itself was very tender, but my husband and I felt like the sauce was lacking something overall--more salt? Just didn't have a depth to it, but it did have a lot of rosemary taste. The reason we gave it four instead of three stars is because the sauce might have been negatively impacted by using O'Doul's instead of "real" beer. Next time may try adding more veggies beyond onions, using a deeper flavor beer and perhaps some garlic salt, and making this more of a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made it using a dark winter ale beer, it was very bitter and strong, totally ruined. Will try again w/the right beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I absolutely adored this recipe. And, as most stews are, it was way better the following day. I added a lot of garlic powder, as I lacked dill. It gave it a lovely flavour. I also added a lot more salt. I also cooked this for about 2 hours, and the meat was incredibly tender. I added baby carrots, and wish I had added potatoes as well... next time I suppose! I liked this served in a bowl, without mashed potatoes. We had the taters, but we really didn't need them. I used a honey ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Delicious! Great over garlic mashed potatoes and did add the carrots. Suggestion for the sauce: serve with fresh rolls/buns to soak up sauce or serve sauce in gravy boat and spoon the gravy with onions on fresh or toasted baguette slices. Didn't have dill in the house so omitted (but would like to try it with) and used 1 tsp. dried parsley instead of fresh. (Make sure the rosemary is not ground; it's perfect using dried rosemary.) Served the beef cubes to my daughter's VERY picky friend and she liked it!!! (Of course I had to serve the mashed potatoes separately with no sauce on it and give her raw julienned carrots instead of cooked - but finally something she will eat at our house instead of cheese pizza!) Make sure to keep stirring because it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I was skeptical, but this was wonderful. Served over mashed potatoes and added frozen carrots. I used cube steak on accident, so probably didn't need to cook so long, but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was pretty good, though a little heavy on the rosemary. I had just over 2 pounds of beef, so I proportioned everything to a 6 serving amount. Even though it takes awhile to cook, it's actually pretty easy. I cut up 2 top round steaks which had very little fat, subbed dried parsely and garlic powder, and added carrots for the last 45 minutes. We ate it with mashed potatoes. I used Black Butte Porter for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States