Mom's Beef Shish Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
i love this marinade,but instead of marinating the meat for 8 hours then adding the mushrooms for another 8 hours i just made a double batch of marinade,and put the mushrooms in another baggie and did them together for 8 hours,turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I was searching for a marinade that sounded good and this hit the spot. I, like many others, omitted the additional salt and I was running low on lemon juice so I used less than what was called for. Also, because I really enjoy ginger, I added several tablesppons of fresh grated ginger. The recipe adjuster made it very easy for me to tweak for the group I needed to cook for (kabob for 50+)! Very impressed with the marinade and I anticipate I will use it frequently in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very good. I omitted the extra salt as well and it was still was a little too salty, next time use low sodium soya. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes for Shish Kabobs! I also love it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was an excellent marinade! We pretty much followed it verbatim and used some different veggies. I would probably use reduce sodium soy sauce the next time we make it however because it was just a little on the salty side for our taste, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Made it last night with my wife. We only let it sit in the marinade for about 30 mins. We used beef stew chunks and reduced serving size to two. We also added a little bit of onions to the marinade just for a little extra goodness. We both loved it and it will definitely be on the menu again. One of the most mouth watering marinades I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was very tasty ! I usually just marinate the beef in italian dressing, but this was a million times better. Was not sure about the soy sauce (I dont usually care for the taste}. But this was amazing!! Will definitely use again for other beef recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is probably the best recipe I have found on this website! The marinade is so versatile. I use the marinade on just the vegetables most of the time and it comes out so fantastic. I have relatives over and they all wanted to take this recipe home with them. I recently used the marinade on some pork loin and beef for kabobs and it just infuses the meat with so much flavor. My only tip when making this recipe is to cut the vegetables in giant chunks so that when you start to get to the bottom of the bowl, you don't loose the ingredients in the marinade. This is because there will be a lot left over on the bottom. Like I said, I love this recipe and I will be using it for my upcoming wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridethebeanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Millington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
When my husband took a bite of this he just stood there, wide-eyed and his mouth agape in disbelief at how good this was. Definitely going to be making this again and again. It was already very salty without adding the salt. I also put some summer squash and cherry tomatoes on the skewers. Top round worked really well for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I've been making this for a year and I never posted a review on it. It's well overdue. This recipe is perfect! I only marinated a total of 8 hours and I added the onion pieces with the mushrooms for the last 4 hours. It was beyond delicious! My husband devoured it. The taste was simply outstanding! My in-laws request this when they visit. Thanks so much for sharing. This is in our summer meal rotation for the 2nd year running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States