Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good biscuits :) i had no problem with mine rising. I didnt have baking powder so i used 1/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar per tsp of baking powder in the recipe. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the recipe, and brushed the tops with melted margarine before baking. Yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
There is only one thing that I would do differently. If you can get it, use pastry flour. NEVER use all purpose flour. If you can't get pastry flour, use half bread flour and half cake flour. You will find that you will get a better bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is only my 2nd time ever attempting to make homemade biscuits. And I have to say, this recipe really didn't make me want to re-try it. The biscuits came out flat and it certainly did not yeild 2-3 dozens, which after I tasted them, I was very happy it only made 12-13 biscuits. And that was rolling it thin. Maybe that's why they came out flat. I don't know. The taste was just "okay". Still looking for a recipe close to "Mama's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Extremely easy, extremely tasty for as quick as they are to make! Reminds me of my Grandma's, with the exception of using shortening instead of the lard that she used. These are very tasty with butter and honey or butter and syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are very simple, and very tasty! I make these vegan by adding soy milk in lieu of regular milk, which adds a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was pretty good. I think it overcooked on the bottom a little bit. So, I think it would have been better to either turn the temperature down a little bit or sprayed the pan before putting them on. But, overall they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These are the biscuits I remember having as a kid. I was sad when I lost the recipe that won me 1st place in the 4H biscuit competition, but these are easier to make and definitely hit all the same high notes. I use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by regp03

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I lost my own baking powder biscuit recipe and needed a new one. This one makes biscuits that are exactly what I wanted. I love to eat these hot out of the oven with butter and jam! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband brought home raspberries,, his favorite, for shortcakes.. he did this a week ago and I made biscuits for the first time in a long time.. I used to use Bakewell cream but didn't have any, so found a recipe on line and made baking powder ones. sort of flat.. so I bought new baking powder,, Today he found this recipe and I tried it,, after they were in the oven I read some reviews.. Oh no..are they going to be good or not.. THEY WERE GREAT! No way do you get the dozen or more.. but I did get 8 normal size biscuits that had at least doubled their height, they were light, moist and flakey.. my only substitution was butter on top prior to baking.. and I always have added two TB of sugar for desserts.. Next time I will do the double batch so we have some left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States