Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
flaky and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy. I followed someone's suggestion to drop it by the spoonful on the cookie sheet instead of rolling it. It was a really wet dough, so I would've had trouble rolling it anyway w/o working the dough too much. I used margarine instead of shortening, and brushed melted margarine on top before baking. They were a hit, and next time I'll vary it up a bit with spices, cheeses, or maybe bacon bits. This makes a great template to play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
im in culinary school and instead of dipping them in the shortening we grade the shortening with a cheese grader and mix it into the dough so when it bakes it has an even amount of shortening and it comes out moist and another good thing is to add chesse and if u want to make red lobster bisciuts but dont have the money just take some garlic fresh or powder doesnt matter a decent amount of putter a chop up some parsely, melt it in a pot let it cool and get a little hard and as soon as they come out the oven take a pastry brush annd brush the mixture over the top so the butter mixture melts and you have your red lobster cheese biscuits dont be stingy with the cheese either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These were quick and easy. And they were very light. But I do agree with another reviewer, they don't have much flavor, except a hint of baking powder flavor. I made a half batch, with butter. If I try them again, I will try making them with shortening, since that is what the recipe calls for. If they have more flavor, I will update the review and rating since that would validate the recipe as written. As others noted, there is no way a full batch could yield 24 biscuits. With the half batch, I got only 7, and my biscuits were relatively small. Also, I agree they probably need more baking powder, as mine rose some but nothing like what is shown in the photo. But since they already have a hint of that baking powder flavor, I would be worried how they would taste with more baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Here in the south we make bigger biscuits apparently. I can't imagine getting 24 biscuits out of this recipe. I got 7. And sometimes I use butter; sometime lard or shortening. Both work wonderfully. I do recommend using a whole tablespoon of baking powder (at least) though because they do not rise well with only the amount in this recipe. And key words...don't overwork the dough! Yummy biscuits plain or great with honey or butter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Basic, simple recipe. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong here, and I'm sure it's not the recipe, but my biscuits turned out very flat. They tasted really good though. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make the biscuits rise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSailorsGirl03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I rate these 5 for taste but there is NO WAY that this recipe makes 24. I got 7 but they were really thin. I used butter and also almond milk. Skipped the dipping them in butter before baking step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I prepared these biscuits for the first time this morning for visitors and my sister in law said they were the best biscuits she has ever had in her life! I am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Fluffy and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBolen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States