Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Here in the south we make bigger biscuits apparently. I can't imagine getting 24 biscuits out of this recipe. I got 7. And sometimes I use butter; sometime lard or shortening. Both work wonderfully. I do recommend using a whole tablespoon of baking powder (at least) though because they do not rise well with only the amount in this recipe. And key words...don't overwork the dough! Yummy biscuits plain or great with honey or butter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Basic, simple recipe. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong here, and I'm sure it's not the recipe, but my biscuits turned out very flat. They tasted really good though. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make the biscuits rise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSailorsGirl03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I rate these 5 for taste but there is NO WAY that this recipe makes 24. I got 7 but they were really thin. I used butter and also almond milk. Skipped the dipping them in butter before baking step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I prepared these biscuits for the first time this morning for visitors and my sister in law said they were the best biscuits she has ever had in her life! I am keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Fluffy and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBolen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I MAKE OFTEN FOR BREAKFAST!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
i put 5 teaspoons of baking powder in i like mine to be really fluffy otherwize this is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These are the best, quickest, easiest biscuits to make! My family begs me to make these! They are delicious and flaky! Takes mins to prepare and are devoured in seconds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phantomphan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good, simple biscuits. Like many others, I subbed butter for the shortening. Great with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muttoneer
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States