Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Simple, easy and delicious what any recipe should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These biscuits were great. Followed the recipe but I used butter instead of shortening. My family and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! My hubby and kids love it too! They come out with a beautiful crusty outside and wonderful inside. I've made these multiple times, and like varying the recipe by adding a little garlic powder sometimes. As has been said in other reviews, do not overwork the dough or you will end up with hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilsgarden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gatesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very simple I changed milk out with sour cream and heavy cream. Also used cold butter for the fat and added a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjballofsunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe dozens of times and they always turn out perfect. The only thing I changed was using butter over shortening for extra flavor. The only thing I dislike is it doesn't yield very many, I usually need to double the recipe in order to get at least a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have never made good biscuits until I made these. I used organic flour, sea salt and butter. These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Not like mamma used to make but as close as I have been able to find. This is a great starter recipe for you to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
While not my favorite biscuit (I tend to prefer buttermilk biscuits) this is a decent biscuit nonetheless. Not that I had any problem using shortening, but I used butter instead - mainly because I already conveniently had a 5 T. stick cut in the fridge. Grating that with a box grater into the flour mixture made this come together lickety-split. I did find I had to add a little extra milk to make the dough come together. I did not dip the biscuits in melted shortening. Rather, I brushed them with melted butter once they were hot out of the oven. Both butter and the right amount of salt resulted in good flavor, and I really loved the sort of crispy/crunchy bottoms. Nice and soft, but perhaps not as fluffy as they could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Quick & easy recipe for biscuits. They were fantastic w/dinner. The next morning we used the left over biscuits to make ham & egg biscuits. My baking powder had expired so they didn't rise very much. But they were still great none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These were okay but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States