Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe dozens of times and they always turn out perfect. The only thing I changed was using butter over shortening for extra flavor. The only thing I dislike is it doesn't yield very many, I usually need to double the recipe in order to get at least a dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have never made good biscuits until I made these. I used organic flour, sea salt and butter. These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Not like mamma used to make but as close as I have been able to find. This is a great starter recipe for you to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
While not my favorite biscuit (I tend to prefer buttermilk biscuits) this is a decent biscuit nonetheless. Not that I had any problem using shortening, but I used butter instead - mainly because I already conveniently had a 5 T. stick cut in the fridge. Grating that with a box grater into the flour mixture made this come together lickety-split. I did find I had to add a little extra milk to make the dough come together. I did not dip the biscuits in melted shortening. Rather, I brushed them with melted butter once they were hot out of the oven. Both butter and the right amount of salt resulted in good flavor, and I really loved the sort of crispy/crunchy bottoms. Nice and soft, but perhaps not as fluffy as they could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Quick & easy recipe for biscuits. They were fantastic w/dinner. The next morning we used the left over biscuits to make ham & egg biscuits. My baking powder had expired so they didn't rise very much. But they were still great none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These were okay but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Tried this last night to surprise the family with some fresh biscuits for the morning. They came out so good I'm on my second batch! We love "melt in your mouth" biscuits and that's exactly what we got. Only variation I made was based on other reviews - I added 1 tablespoon sugar for sweetness. Very easy recipe worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Wow! This is perfect! I used butter for the shortening( shortening not healthy for you) It has a lovely buttery smell,love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I am not a fan of this recipe. They didn't puff up AT ALL and they burnt to a crisp after only 8 mins at that temp. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a disaster... Turned out more like crackers than biscuits... I'll keep looking for the perfect biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I can't think of more to say other than what's been said. Easy to make and taste great. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States