Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by sunset
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
vary good and easy will keep this one........lol findly it biscuit that really has hight lol my all ways comes out flat..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISAKP71
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for! No-screwing-around plain old breakfast biscuits... and really good ones, at that. Hey, I love an orange-scented twice-sifted fancy-pants gourmet biscuit as much as the next girl, but sometimes you just have to get back to the basics - and this is it. I made these half an hour ago, and they have been eaten with just butter, whipped honey-margarine, grape jelly, actual honey, and with a sausage patty for a sandwich... all delicious. They are light, fluffy, soft inside and just awesome. I made mine with unsalted butter (and left the salt as written, but probably should have increased a tad), 1 full Tbsp of baking powder, and did not dip the biscuits AND! I didn't realize we were out of milk, so I used a powdered buttermilk product with water per their instructions. These were perfectly done at just 13 minutes, so check at 10 and then watch closely - biscuits turn color very rapidly at the end. FYI, these were not the layered flaky style of biscuit, although I did knead at least 20 turns. I'll try the butter-flavored shortening sometime to see what that does differently. Give these a try!! Now get off my computer so I can go eat more biscuits. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great! I made these in my food processor and increased the baking powder to about 1 tablespoon. I also haven't found these to make more than one dozen biscuits, but I like mine on the larger side! I also usually substitute out 1/2 cup of the flour for whole wheat because it gives a great taste/texture to the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made these with butter instead of shortening. They turned out well and were similar to pre-packaged mixes I've used (ie: Bisquick). It was my first time making biscuits from scratch, and these were pretty easy. I did them as drop biscuits, but next time I'll roll them to make them prettier. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
What a great recipe and so easy it makes those delectible melt in your mouth biscuits you remember from your childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were very good. Followed the recipe, but used butter instead of the shortening, dropped them instead of rolling and cutting, and didn't bother with brushing the tops with anything. Still a very tasty basic biscuit. I used less than 3/4C milk... so don't just dump in the full amount and figure it's right. Will use again, might try subbing some wheat flour in. Yumm-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These are so worth the effort. My southern husband was very pleased, and I won't be looking for another biscuit recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McElroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I wanted a quick and easy biscuit recipe for the creamed chipped beef my husband was begging for. This really fit the bill! I made them as written aside from brushing butter on the tops instead of the shortening. I think maybe they would have had a richer taste if I'd used the butter flavored shortening in the mix, but I only had regular and they still were tasty. They cooked up perfectly in 12 mins and were nice and flaky. I didn't get a lot of biscuits out of the mix, but I got 9 good sized ones, which was fine for our dinner. I will definitely be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I added a 1/2 cup of white sugar to this recipe for a sweeter dessert-type biscuit. I also reduced the oven temperature from 450 to 400. These were simple and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Super easy and very yummy, Husband approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States