Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
They turned out great! very simple to make and clean up no problem. Definitely will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Just like my.moms. THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
loved it, easy and just like the old fashioned ones my mom used to make, needs no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I liked the recipe, the ratio seems to be correct. The only thing I didn't like was that the amount the recipe is supposed to make isn't accurate. I halved the recipe the first time, and I got 5 biscuits out of it, that's not even half a dozen. So, if I had wanted to make enough for a family with more than just myself and my husband, I would have had a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Super easy to remember (I liked that a lot!) And they come out perfect. I have made these over and over--sometimes I use buttermilk, sometimes I sour the milk with lemon or vinegar. I have added- garlic, cheese, crumbled bacon, whatever and they never fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
these are excellent as a dumpling when cooked in your favorite stew, been doing this fo years and is a favorite of my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Mine came out very flaky... the recipe only made 11 (3 inch diameter) biscuits. I used butter.... I did not overwork the dough (very important), rolled out about 1/2 in thick, scraps just squeezed together and then cut as well. Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe, instead od doubling the shortening I only added what this recipe required then equal amounts of butter. I spooned melted butter over the top after cutting them out. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made the recipe as-is. Didn't turn out so well for me. I think next time I'll try vegetable oil and at least double the baking powder and salt. They were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Dennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (rare for me!), just finished eating dinner, they were perfect! The first one I poured chicken fricassee over, held up to the weight fine. The second one I had butter and grape jelly on. It was firm but fluffy. Raised nicely. I increased the recipe by half, made 8 biscuits, used a large cutter. The trick with these is not to knead them too much or too hard. It was a little gooey when I took the batter from the bowl to the flour covered area on the counter. I let them sit for about 5 minutes before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States