Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is definitely a very simple recipe for biscuits! I have made these biscuits 2 ways: with shortening or with butter/margerine. When I used the shortening, it made the biscuits flaky, but when I made it with the butter/margerine it made the biscuits softer. All in all, this is a GREAT recipe and my husband loves them everytime I make them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe! My husband loves these. I make up the recipe as is but I make the biscuits twice as big so we can make breakfast sandwiches. I have used different types of butter/oil that I've had on hand. I works well with vegetable oil and it makes them flaky. When I use shortning or butter, it makes them more fluffy. I usually add 1/2 teasp. more of baking powder when I am making big ones. It helps to keep them from being so heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This recipe is excellent. It's very easy to make and doesn't take a lot of time. The only change I made was doubling the amount of baking powder. The biscuits turned out really fluffly and made an excellent addition to the meal. They even tasted great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
my fiance's family is from the south and he asked me if i could make biscuits. i tried thid recipe, and he said they were just like his grandmothers! this recipe is very easy. dont get scared that these biscuits are lumpy, they are supposed to be! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleCrumb.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've been up since 4:30 this morning and figured what the hay...I'll try to make biscuits for breakfast. My mom used to make the best biscuits in the whole world. Well, these are almost as great and "stupid" easy to make. They take very little time to make. I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead...worked out great. I brushed the tops with melted butter also. They rose up real nice. Next time I'm going to try with the shortening. I'll let you know how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because they are easy to make and taste great, they came out crusty on the outside with a soft inside, yum. The only thing I changed was that I didn't dip them in melted shortening. Overall, they were a hit at my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I had no problems with this recipe! The biscuits were light and fluffy, and were wonderfully crisp on the outside. I personally prefer lighter biscuits, so I reduced the baking time by one minute, and they came out perfectly. I had some leftover feta in the fridge, so I mixed some of it into one of the biscuits, and that also turned out well. I definitely recommend this recipe! Quick and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very good! This made a perfect dough. Very easy to work with and the taste was perfection! Thanks! PS reduced salt to 1/2 tsp. and used margarine instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
Easy to make, but pan is extremely hot. So don't let kids touch it, or take it out of the oven. (The heat goes through most hotmittens) Doesn't take long to make and is easy to clean-up after. Tastes like buttermilk biscits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
this is a wonderful recipe ! The taste is great! My family really enjoyed it . Thanks so much Jodeen for sharing it with everyone ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States