Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My go to biscuit recipe. These come out perfect everytime. I usually substitute butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Lovely little biscuit, rises high and is flaky as sin. I can't get these on the table fast enough for my lot, they eat them two handed. If your lucky enough to have a few left over ( not likely in any case), try it with a thick slice of tomato covered in mayonnaisse with a bit of salt and pepper. Makes for an amazing light lunch or tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Awesome biscuits (Moist and flaky)....I doubled up the recipe and made a meat pie and cinnamon rolls...Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Excellent biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good biscuits :) i had no problem with mine rising. I didnt have baking powder so i used 1/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp cream of tartar per tsp of baking powder in the recipe. I also added 1/4 cup of sugar to the recipe, and brushed the tops with melted margarine before baking. Yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
There is only one thing that I would do differently. If you can get it, use pastry flour. NEVER use all purpose flour. If you can't get pastry flour, use half bread flour and half cake flour. You will find that you will get a better bisquit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Lindwall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is only my 2nd time ever attempting to make homemade biscuits. And I have to say, this recipe really didn't make me want to re-try it. The biscuits came out flat and it certainly did not yeild 2-3 dozens, which after I tasted them, I was very happy it only made 12-13 biscuits. And that was rolling it thin. Maybe that's why they came out flat. I don't know. The taste was just "okay". Still looking for a recipe close to "Mama's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Extremely easy, extremely tasty for as quick as they are to make! Reminds me of my Grandma's, with the exception of using shortening instead of the lard that she used. These are very tasty with butter and honey or butter and syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are very simple, and very tasty! I make these vegan by adding soy milk in lieu of regular milk, which adds a nice nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was pretty good. I think it overcooked on the bottom a little bit. So, I think it would have been better to either turn the temperature down a little bit or sprayed the pan before putting them on. But, overall they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States